GWK Griquas 24, Cell C Sharks 31

We are in week 1 of the 2014 ABSA Currie Cup and for the second game of the weekend we move to Kimberley as the GWK Griquas host the defending champions the Cell C Sharks.

GWK Griquas vs Cell C Sharks

GWK Griquas vs Cell C Sharks

Kimberley have never been the happiest hunting ground for the Sharks and they will be up against a team, that went through a very good few months with winning the Vodacom Cup and went through undefeated in the qualifying rounds to be accepted into the Premiere Division.

The Sharks have also been the Currie Cup side most effected without their Boks and will have to put in a good performance to come away from Kimberley with a win.

Griquas Team:

1 Steph Roberts, 2 Ryno Barnes, 3 Maks Van Dyk, 4 Willem Serfontein, 5 Jaco Nepgen,  6 Marnus Schoeman, 7  Hilton Lobberts, 8 Carel Greef, 9Tian Meyer, 10Francois Brummer, 11 Rocco Jansen, 12 Wayne Stevens – Captain, 13 Jonathan Francke, 14 Danie Dames, 15 Nico Scheepers   


16 Simon Westraadt, 17 Ewald Van Der  Westhuizen, 18 Hugo Kloppers, 19 RJ Liebenberg, 20 Abrie Griesel, 21 Marais Schmidt, 22 Edries Arendse

Sharks Team:

15. SP Marais 14. Odwa Ndungane 13. S’bura Sithole 12. Paul Jordaan 11. Tonderai Chavhanga 10. Fred Zeilinga 9. Cameron Wright 8. Tera Mtembu (C) 7. Etienne Oosthuizen 6. Jacques Botes 5. Stephan Lewies 4. Marco Wentzel 3. Lourens Adriaanse 2. Kyle Cooper 1. Thomas du Toit


16. Monde Hadebe 17. Dale Chadwick 18. Matt Stevens 19. JC Astle 20. Francois Kleinhans 21. Hanco Venter 22. Lionel Cronje

  12 comments for “GWK Griquas 24, Cell C Sharks 31

  1. avatar
    August 9, 2014 at 2:55 pm
    First game of the day and will be a hard one for the Sharks
  2. avatar
    August 9, 2014 at 3:02 pm
    Griquas starting with running hard at Sharks
  3. avatar
    August 9, 2014 at 3:03 pm
    First penalty for Griquas from the scrum and going for points first up
  4. avatar
    August 9, 2014 at 3:04 pm
    Nico Scheepers gets the first points omn the board with a the penalty leading 3-0
  5. avatar
    August 9, 2014 at 3:34 pm
    Tip Tackle from Francke gets Griquas a red card
  6. avatar
    August 9, 2014 at 3:36 pm
    Brilliant try from Sharks and Zeilinga the man over the line
  7. avatar
    August 9, 2014 at 3:47 pm
    Halftime score 18-3 for the Sharks, Jordaan score from tight head in the last scrum of the half
  8. avatar
    August 9, 2014 at 4:13 pm
    Sharks extend their lead to 21-3 with a penalty kick
  9. avatar
    August 9, 2014 at 4:24 pm
    Try Schoeman for Griquas and S’bura Sithole hit right back for the sharks, Sharks lead 28-10
  10. avatar
    August 9, 2014 at 4:29 pm
    TRY Griquas Greeff over in the corner…GAME ON!!Sharks lead 28-17
  11. avatar
    August 9, 2014 at 4:47 pm
    Beautiful TRY!!! Griqaus from Arendse…TMO to look at it
  12. avatar
    August 9, 2014 at 4:52 pm
    Griquas take more out of the game than Sharks great effort from 14 man side

Leave a Reply