Canterbury and Auckland teams named


ITM Cup New Zeeland
ITM Cup New Zeeland

Canterbury will play its first game of the 2014 ITM Cup season this Saturday afternoon, when it hosts Auckland at AMI Stadium. Four players are in line to make their Canterbury debut, two in the starting fifteen and two in the reserves.

Prop Alex Hodgman will wear the number one jersey for his first Canterbury game, packing down alongside hooker Codie Taylor and tighthead prop Nepo Laulala. Siate Tokolahi will be providing prop cover from the bench and if he makes it on, will also earn his first Canterbury cap.

Scott Barrett will make his debut, partnering with Joel Everson at lock. The fourth potential debutant is loose forward Tom Sanders, who will provide cover for the loose forward trio of Matt Todd, Jed Brown and Luke Whitelock.

Canterbury’s new captain, Willi Heinz, will start at halfback. Tyler Bleyendaal and Tom Taylor take the five eighths spots, while Richie Mo’unga steps into the fullback role. Adam Whitelock will play at centre and Johnny McNicholl and Patrick Osborne take the wings.

Kick off at AMI Stadium is at 4:35pm on Saturday and tickets are available through Ticket Direct –, ph. 0800 224 224 – or visit one of the ticketing outlets at The Palms, Champions of the World South City, or participating branches of The Warehouse.

Auckland team to face Canterbury

  1. Sam Prattley (Pakuranga)
  2. Tom McCartney (Pakuranga) – captain
  3. Ofa Tu’ungafasi (Grammar TEC)
  4. Liaki Moli (Manukau Rovers)
  5. Jack Whetton (Grammar TEC)
  6. Joe Edwards (Pakuranga)
  7. Sean Polwart (University)
  8. Peter Saili (Marist)
  9. Junior Poluleuligaga (Papatoetoe)
  10. Gareth Anscombe (Ponsonby)
  11. Charles Piutau (Pakuranga)
  12. Francis Saili (Marist)
  13. George Moala (Grammar TEC)
  14. Lolagi Visinia (Suburbs)/ Ben Lam (Grammar TEC)
  15. Hadleigh Parkes (Grammar TEC)
  16. Gafatasi Su’a (Ponsonby)
  17. Fraser Armstrong (Pakuranga)
  18. Will Lloyd (Marist)
  19. Blake Gibson (Ponsonby)
  20. Leon Fukofuka (Marist)/ Wayne Ngaluafe (Ponsonby)
  21. Simon Hickey (Grammar TEC)
  22. Ben Lam (Grammar TEC)/ Vince Aso (Ponsonby)

Canterbury team to play Auckland:

  1.  Alex Hodgman
  2. Codie Taylor
  3. Nepo Laulala
  4. Joel Everson
  5. Scott Barrett
  6. Matt Todd
  7. Jed Brouwn
  8. Luke Whitelock
  9. Willi Heinz
  10. Tyler Bleyendaal
  11. Johnny McNicholl
  12. Tom Taylor
  13.  Adam Whitelock
  14. Patrick Osborne
  15. Richie Mo’unga
  16. Ben Funnell
  17. Siate Tokolahi
  18. Matt Symons
  19. Tom Sanders
  20. Mitchell Drummond
  21. Rob Thompson
  22. Milford Keresoma
Facebook Comments
Better known as Bunny, Took over after Pissant went over to the "Dark Side"