Glenwood’s Jaco Coetzee to Captain SA U18


Glenwood’s Jaco Coetzee has been selected to captain the SA School’s U18 Rugby Team for 2014 at the forthcoming U18 international series against France, Wales and England, from 10 to 24 August.


Their first match is against France at the City Park Stadium in Cape Town on 15 August, followed by Wales at Outeniqua Park in George on 19 August, and England at the Paul Roos Markötter grounds in Stellenbosch on 23 August.

Jaco has moved through the ranks, as captain of the U13B KZN Craven week-side and then joining Glenwood in Grade 8 as captain of the U14 A-side and the following year captaining the U15 A-side. Jaco’s knee was severely injured in his Grade 10 year and he was not able to play rugby at all in his U16 year. He came back the following year and was selected to represent KZN at Craven week and KZN U18 7’s in 2013. At the annual Glenwood Sports Banquet Jaco was named Open Player of the Year for 2013.

2014 has been a very good year for Jaco, he was chosen to represent South Africa at the African Youth Games in Botswana, playing for the SA Sevens Rugby Team who won gold. Jaco then went on the represent KZN at Craven week where he captained one of the matches and was man of the match for that specific game.

Jaco is a good all-rounder sportsman who has also excelled at athletics representing KZN, he plays 2nd Team water polo and will take on a game of cricket.

Jaco’s natural leadership abilities shows as he leads Glenwood as Deputy Head Prefect and Boarder Prefect.

Jaco has signed a two year contract with the Stormers and will be moving to Cape Town in 2015.

In another boost for junior rugby in the country, broadcaster SuperSport will televise all nine matches live on SS8.

The fixtures are scheduled for Friday 15 August at City Park, on Tuesday 19 August at Outeniqua Park in George and the Paul Roos Markötter Stadium in Stellenbosch on Saturday 23 August.The SA Schools team, which is sponsored by Coca-Cola, is unbeaten in their Series matches for the past four years.

The SA Schools team versus France U18 on Friday at City Park (all matches live on SS8):

15. Eduan Keyter (Affies, Blue Bulls)

14. Andell Loubsher (Menlo Park, Blue Bulls)

13. Barend Smit (HTS Middelburg, Pumas)

12. JT Jackson (Oakdale Agric, SWD)

11. Jerry Danquah (Queens College, Border)

10. Curwin Bosch (Grey HS, Eastern Province)

9. Marko Janse van Vuuren (HS Transvalia, Valke)

8. Jaco Coetzee (Glenwood, KwaZulu-Natal, captain)

7. Victor Maruping (Louis Botha, Free State)

6. Edmund Rheeder (HS Klerksdorp, Leopards)

5. Eduard Zandberg (Outeniqua HS, SWD)

4. Jaco Willemse (Paarl Gimnasium, Western Province)

3. Ignatius Prinsloo (Grey College, Free State)

2. Jan-Henning Campher (Garsfontein, Blue Bulls)

1. Ngonidzashe Chidoma (Northwood HS, KwaZulu-Natal)


16. Le Roux Baard (Outeniqua HS, SWD)

17. Michael Kumbirai (St Albans College, Blue Bulls)

18. Sarel-Marco Smit (Eldoraigne, Blue Bulls)

19. Ashton Fortuin (Southdown College, Blue Bulls)

20. Cobus Wiese (HS Upington, Griquas Country Districts)

21. Embrose Papier (Garsfontein, Blue Bulls)

22. Thinus de Beer (Waterkloof, Blue Bulls)

23. Keanu Vers (Grey HS, Eastern Province)

The SARU 2014 Under-18 International Series fixtures are:

Facebook Comments
Better known as Bunny, Took over after Pissant went over to the "Dark Side"