Home ABSA Currie Cup U19 Coetzee to lead the DHL WP U19s into battle

Coetzee to lead the DHL WP U19s into battle


WP Icon

Reigning Absa Provincial Under-19 champions, DHL Western Province, will open their 2015 national campaign against the Sharks U19s at City Park on Saturday, July 11 (kick-off 12h00).

2014 SA Schools skipper Jaco Coetzee will lead the DHL WP U19s into battle, but coach Nazeem Adams is without lock Eduard Zandberg, flanker Saud Abrahams and wingers Duncan Saal and Edwill van der Merwe.

“Aside from those four injuries, I am happy where we’re at ahead of our opening match,” Adams told www.wprugby.com.

“It’s always tough starting your new campaign, as you’re kind of heading into the unknown, but we are focusing on ourselves and remain confident that we can start with a win if our execution and gameplan are up to standard.”

On his choice of captaincy – for this game and the entire season – Adams spoke glowingly of No.8 Coetzee, who follows in the footsteps of Rikus Bothma, whose inspirational leadership was key to the team’s title-winning success in 2014.

Said Adams: “Jaco’s rugby CV obviously speaks for itself, but he has impressed me a lot since I’ve started working with him.

“Not only is he an impressive young man off the field, but he leads by example on the field and his leadership will be crucial to our success this season.”

Last year the DHL WP Under-19s started like a house on fire, before a mid-season slump threatened to derail their 2014 campaign. However, the team bounced back smartly and qualified for the knockouts where they went on to lift a second title in three seasons.

“It’s always important to start well – our only goal this weekend is to come away with the win,” explained Adams.

“We have this game, then a bye before taking on Eastern Province in PE at the end of month, so it’s important to start well – especially at home.”

The DHL WP Under-19 team for Saturday (v Sharks, home) is as follows:

15. Gerard Pieterse
14. Eduan Keyter
13. Justin Heunis
12. Edrich Venter
11. Wayne Smith
10. Aidynn Cupido
9. Herschel Jantjies
8. Jaco Coetzee (captain)
7. Mervano da Silva
6. Mitchell Carstens
5. Gary Porter
4. Jaco Willemse
3. Michael Kumbirai
2. Percy Mngadi
1. Ruben Terblanche


16. Ruan Brits
17. Carl Prinsloo
18. Jerome Korf
19. Human Bodenstein
20. Iver Aanhuizen
21. Paul de Wet
22. Tiaan Swanepoel
23. Kurt-Lee Arendse

Renier Vermeulen

Comment Here