Home Discliplinary actions Fekitoa banned, Cane and Sanchez free to play

Fekitoa banned, Cane and Sanchez free to play

0
SHARE

All Blacks will have to be without Malakai Fekitoa this weekend when they take on France but star flanker Sam Cane are free to play.

Referee - Cartoon 2

Fekitoa appeared on Tuesday in London before an independent Disciplinary Committee, having been cited by an independent Citing Commissioner for an allegedly dangerous tackle in contravention of Law 10.4 (e) in the match between Ireland and New Zealand at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday.

He accepted that he had commited foul play and it was seen as a red card offence.

Fekitoa accepted that he had committed an act of foul play but asserted that it would not have warranted a red card. The Disciplinary Committee, chaired by Antony Davies (England), alongside Derek Bevan (Wales) and John Doubleday (England), viewed video footage of the incident, listened to evidence and representations from and on behalf of the player, and reviewed all of the other evidence.

They then found that Fekitoa’s actions would have warranted a red card, albeit that he had acted recklessly rather than intentionally. When considering sanction, the Disciplinary Committee concluded that the offending merited a low-end entry point based on World Rugby’s scale of seriousness, which carries a two-week playing suspension.

The Disciplinary Committee further found that there were no aggravating factors and that there were a number of mitigating factors (including Mr Fekitoa’s immediate acknowledgement of wrongdoing, his previous clean disciplinary record and his good conduct at the hearing) such that his playing suspension be reduced to one week.

Fekitoa is therefore suspended from playing rugby for a total of one week, up to and including Sunday, November 27.

Meanwhile Cane also appeared on Tuesday in London before an independent Disciplinary Committee having been cited for allegedly tackling an opponent dangerously in contravention of Law 10.4 (e).

Cane did not accept that he had committed an act of foul play.

The Disciplinary Committee, chaired by Antony Davies (England), alongside Derek Bevan (Wales) and John Doubleday (England), having viewed video footage of the incident, listened to evidence and representations from and on behalf of the player, and reviewed all of the other evidence, concluded that Cane’s actions had been accidental and that he had not therefore committed an act of foul play.

The citing complaint was not upheld and Cane is therefore free to resume playing immediately.

Meanwhile Argentina also got some good news when Nicolás Sánchez was found not guilty of striking at his hearing.

Sánchez was cited for allegedly striking an opponent in the 38th minute of the second-half in his team’s defeat to Scotland at Murrayfield.

But a statement on Tuesday has cleared the playmaker of the offence and he is now free to face England at Twickenham on Saturday.

 “He appeared before an independent Disciplinary Committee (appointed by World Rugby) in London on Tuesday and accepted that he had committed an act of foul play but asserted that it would not have warranted a red card,” it read.

“The Disciplinary Committee, chaired by Antony Davies (England), alongside Bonike Erinle (England) and Derek Bevan (Wales), viewed video footage of the incident, listened to evidence and representations from and on behalf of the player, and reviewed all of the other evidence.

“The Committee then concluded that although Sanchez had committed an act of foul play, he had done this as part of an attempt to free himself from the illegal grasp of an opponent and that in any event, it would not have warranted a red card – no sanction was imposed.”

Source: Planet Rugby

Leave Your Comment Here