Home #LoveRugby London Sevens – Scotland take London Sevens again

London Sevens – Scotland take London Sevens again


Scotland went one better than last week’s runner-up finish in Paris as they beat England 12-7 to win the London Sevens on Sunday.

Tries from Hugh Blake and Scott Riddell denied England the trophy on their home patch, with Dan Norton having crossed for the game’s opener.

 An in-form Scotland beat New Zealand and USA in their quarter and semi-final while England defeated South Africa and Canada respectively.

Canada sealed the Bronze Medal after seeing off the USA 22-17 while World Series winners South Africa finished in fifth spot at Twickenham.

Scotland, Canada, Argentina and Samoa also became the latest Men’s teams to qualify for Rugby World Cup Sevens 2018 in San Francisco by virtue of their finishing positions in the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series.

All eight quarter-finalists from RWC Sevens 2013 in Moscow (New Zealand, England, Fiji, Kenya, South Africa, Wales, Australia and France) qualified automatically for the 2018 edition of the tournament as did host team USA.

Under the agreed qualification process, the top four teams outside of those eight at the 2016/17 series can book their place in San Francisco, meaning the Scots, Canadians, Argentinians and Samoans are now confirmed.

The remaining 11 nations in the 24-team tournament will be decided by virtue of regional qualifying tournaments taking place in Europe, Africa, North America, South America, Asia and Oceania, which will happen in the future.

World Series table

1 South Africa 192
2 England 164
3 Fiji 150
4 New Zealand 137
5 USA 129
6 Australia 113
7 Scotland 109
8 Canada 98
9 Argentina 90
10 Wales 73
11 France 66
12 Kenya 63
13 Samoa 51
14 Russia 29
15 Japan 20
16 Chile 6

Day One Wrap

Day Two Results



Scotland 12-7 England

Bronze final

USA 19-22 Canada


USA 14-21 Scotland
England 24-5 Canada

5th place final

Australia 17-28 South Africa

5th place semi-finals

Australia 40-7 New Zealand
South Africa 24-7 Argentina


USA 31-14 Australia
New Zealand 21-24 Scotland
England 17-12 South Africa
Argentina 7-28 Canada

13th place final

Russia 19-24 Samoa

13th place semi-finals

Spain 5-38 Russia
Samoa 28-0 Japan

Challenge Trophy final

Fiji 26-14 Wales

Challenge Trophy semi-finals

Kenya 5-45 Fiji
Wales 26-17 France

Challenge Trophy quarter-finals

Kenya 33-7 Spain
Fiji 31-5 Russia
Samoa 21-29 Wales
France 22-5 Japan

Day One Results

Fiji 19-22 Canada
New Zealand 33-7 Japan
France 7-35 Argentina
Scotland 21-7 Russia
USA 12-28 Wales
South Africa 12-10 Kenya
Samoa 5-34 Australia
England 28-7 Spain
Fiji 61-5 Japan
New Zealand 19-14 Canada
France 26-20 Russia
Scotland 26-19 Argentina
USA 47-0 Kenya
South Africa 12-10 Wales
Samoa 40-7 Spain
England 19-12 Australia
Canada 28-14 Japan
New Zealand 27-21 Fiji
Argentina 26-19 Russia
Scotland 12-17 France
Wales 17-28 Kenya
South Africa 12-24 USA
Australia 50-0 Spain
England 24-19 Samoa

Comment Here