The Sevens Circus starts again and Fiji head coach Gareth Baber has named a strong squad for the opening leg of the 2017/2018 World Rugby Sevens Series in Dubai.

The tournament kicks off in Dubai on Friday, 1 December and Fiji will be led by Jerry Tuwai, who has been appointed captain for the upcoming season.

This, after regular skipper Osea Kolinisau signed with the Houston Strikers, who are scheduled to play in the inaugural Major League Rugby competition in the United States.

Fiji are drawn in Pool C in Dubai with Australia, Wales and Russia while New Zealand, USA, Argentina and Samoa make up Pool D. The Blitzboks are drawn in Pool A alongside Canada, Kenya and invitational team Uganda. Pool B has a European feel to it as England meet Scotland, France and the newly promoted Spain.

Baber believes he has selected a very strong team and is confident the team will do well in Dubai and South Africa.

“The FRU CEO, Mr John O’Connor in congratulating the players that were selected has also challenged the management and players that they need to perform and strive to win the next two tournaments as we build up toward the Conmmonwealth games,” he said.

Following the Dubai Sevens tournament, the team will proceed to South Africa for the Cape Town Sevens.

Fiji 7s squad: Apisai Domolailai, Mesulame Kunavula, Apenisa Cakaubalavu, Paula Dranisinukula, Josua Vakurinabili, Jasa Veremalua, Jerry Tuwai (c), Vatemo Ravouvou, Waisea Nacuqu, Kalione Nasoko, John Stewart, Eroni Sau, Amenoni Nasilasila

Facebook Comments