Home RBS Six Nations 2018 Preview – France v England

Preview – France v England


England will be on some kind of pressure which they have not been used to when they travel to France to face the French after being beaten by Scotland two weeks ago.

Not just have it put a stop to their ambition to get the grand-slam this year but has also put a threat on their ambition to win the Six Nations this year.

French coach Jacques Brunel has made one change to his starting XV for the test with Trinh-Duc to start at the crucial number ten jumper and Beauxis dropping to the bench.

The rest of les Bleus‘ matchday squad is exactly the same from the one which beat Italy 34-17 in Marseille two weeks ago.

England coach Jones have given the number two jumper to Jamie George to replace the injured Dylan Hartley for Saturday test.

Owen Farrell will captain the team with Mako Vunipola named as vice captain.

Te-o will start at outside centre with Daly returning to the left wing. Watson moves from wing to fullback with May switching wings.

Jones have made six changes among the eight replacements including Luke Cowan-Dickie, Mike Brown, James Haskell, Jonathan Joseph, Sam Simmonds and Kyle Sinckler all chosen.

England cane make this as difficult or as easy as they want to in this test and should be on the winning side, but you never know what you will get in France and they will have to up their game from the poor performance against the Scots.

Prediction: England by 10


France: 15 Hugo Bonneval, 14 Benjamin Fall, 13 Mathieu Bastareaud, 12 Geoffrey Doumayrou, 11 Rémy Grosso, 10 François Trinh-Duc, 9 Maxime Machenaud, 8 Marco Tauleigne, 7 Yacouba Camara, 6 Wenceslas Lauret, 5 Sébastien Vahaamahina, 4 Paul Gabrillagues, 3 Rabah Slimani, 2 Guilhelm Guirado (c), 1 Jefferson Poirot
Replacements: 16 Adrien Pelissié, 17 Dany Priso, 18 Cedate Gomes Sa, 19 Romain Taofifenua, 20 Kélian Galletier, 21 Baptiste Couilloud, 22 Lionel Beauxis, 23 Gaël Fickou

England: 15 Anthony Watson, 14 Jonny May, 13 Ben Te’o, 12 Owen Farrell (c), 11 Elliot Daly, 10 George Ford, 9 Danny Care, 8 Nathan Hughes, 7 Chris Robshaw, 6 Courtney Lawes, 5 Maro Itoje, 4 Joe Launchbury, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Jamie George, 1 Mako Vunipola
Replacements: 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17 Joe Marler, 18 Kyle Sinckler, 19 James Haskell, 20 Sam Simmonds, 21 Richard Wigglesworth, 22 Jonathan Joseph, 23 Mike Brown

Facebook Comments

Facebook Comments