Home Currie Cup 2018 Scrappy Sharks gets bonus point win over Pumas

Scrappy Sharks gets bonus point win over Pumas


It was definitely not a pretty game of rugby but the Sharks manage to get a bonus point win over the Pumas on Friday in Durban scoring 3 tries in the second half after being behind 12-7 at the break.

It was a match with plenty of mistakes making it hard to watch. The Sharks had most of the ball but could not really shown it on the scoreboard.

The few opportunities the Pumas had was in the first half and they took advantage of it after defending for most of that first half.

The Sharks did start to dominate most of the play after coming out in the second half and was well deserved winners at the end making it three out of three so far this season in the Currie Cup.

For the Pumas it is backs against the wall now and it looks like they will not be able to make it to the playoffs in this shorten Currie Cup format.

They struggled to get their shape on attack and their handling was not at it’s best. Decision making at critical times also prevent them from getting the scoreboard ticking over.

Although two tries of the Sharks came from brilliant kick and chase the defence of the Pumas was poor at times leaving the Sharks to dominate.

The Sharks will be happy with the bonus point win but still have hard work ahead if they want to go all the way.



Sharks Pumas


Tries: Tries:
Ward, Deysel, Fassi, Bosch Isbell, Roets
Penalties Penalties
none none
Cons Cons
Du Preez (4)  Smith


Sharks – 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Jeremy Ward, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 Luke Stringer, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Gideon Koegelenberg, 3 John-Hubert Meyer, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle (c), 1 Juan Schoeman.
Subs: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Khutha Mchunu, 18 Andrew Evans, 19 Wian Vosloo, 20 Cameron Wright, 21 Johan Deysel, 22 Curwin Bosch.

Pumas – 15 Gerrit Smith, 14 Niel Maritz, 13 Ryan Nell, 12 Hennie Skorbinski, 11 Ruwellyn Isbell, 10 Christopher Smith, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Willie Engelbrecht, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Le Roux Roets, 3 Marné Coetzee, 2 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 1 Khwezi Mona.
Subs: 16 Frankie Herne, 17 Andrew Beerwinkel, 18 Cameron Lindsay, 19 Francois Kleinhans, 20 Jeandré Rudolph, 21 Reynier van Rooyen, 22 Trompie Pretorius.

Facebook Comments

Facebook Comments