Home SA Legends SA Legends gearing up for World Rugby Classic in Bermuda

SA Legends gearing up for World Rugby Classic in Bermuda


In a few short days, between the 4th -10th November 2018, many of the worlds greatest and legendary rugby players will meet on the island of Bermuda for an event known as the World Rugby Classic.

Supported by the sport’s most passionately committed rugby fans, this is a much-loved event.

You wouldn’t imagine that a combination of sea, sand and scrum could lead to victory but this event has been an annual success for 30 years. Since 1988, the world’s leading international rugby legends have grabbed the ball and headed to Bermuda for the World Rugby Classic.

The island of Bermuda has deep rugby roots and the Classic is one of their most highly anticipated and supported annual sporting events. Taking place at the Bermuda National Sports Centre in Devonshire, just outside the City of Hamilton, several members of the 2016 winning team will be playing again this year.

South Africa’s team for the World Rugby Classic are known as The Classic Springboks and whilst we didn’t secure our seventh win last year in 2017, we know our fans still consider us as champions as we have six wins under our belt.

The 2018 Classic Springbok team will be coached by prominent rugby legend Butch James, who represented South Africa 42 times during his career and was the flyhalf in the 2007 winning World Cup Team.

Coach Butch James proudly said “I’m honored to have been invited to work with the team, it’s an awesome opportunity for us to get together and play together and remind the world who we are!”

The Classic Springbok Team will be managed by 2017 Coach, Mark Wood, assisted by Danie Gerber and Sergio Giorgi.

Gavin Varejes, President of SARLA, shared his hopes for the event saying “Our entire Springbok Classic Team are proud former SA Rugby Legends and thus I have no doubt that they will give off their all and make us proud,” adding that “As always, I want to thank them for their time and devotion and wish them well.”

The Classic Teams participating this year alongside the South African team include former players from teams such as The Pumas, British Lions, Canada, USA Eagles, Italy, Ireland and France.

Several members of the 2016 winning squad return this year for the Classic Springboks,  players such as Marco Wentzel, Bian Vermaak, Justin Melck, Delarey du Preez, Conrad Jantjes, Monty Dumond, Neil Cole and Marc Watson. Please see below for the detail of the full team component.

The Classic Springboks will kick off their campaign on Sunday 4th November at 3:45pm against the Canadian team. From here the places for the Plate and Classic semi-finals will be determined by the results and there is naturally great hope and expectation for our SA team.

Stefan Terblanche, CEO of SARLA, said “We would like to thank Cell C for their continuous support of SARLA, it’s due to their ongoing assistance that we are able to participate in exciting events such as this one.” 

SARLA’s social media platforms will ensure fans back home receive regular and ongoing updates, news and results from the tournament.

For more information on SARLA please visit: http://www.sarugbylegends.com

Facebook – @SARugbyLegendsAssociation

Twitter – @SARugbyLegends

Instagram – sarugbylegends

Classic Springbok Team:

Forwards: 13                                                   Backs: 10

Bian Vermaak                                               Andries Strauss

Darron Nell                                                   Conrad Jantjes

Delarey du Preez                                         Helmar Breytenbach

Edrich Linde                                                  Hennie Daniller

Hottie Louw                                                     Jongi Nokwe

Jacques Muller                                                  Marc Watson

Justin Melck                                                     Monty Dumond

Lawrence Sephaka                                               Neil Cole

Marco Wentzel                                                  Sam Gerber

Peter Dunkerley (Bermuda)                                Tobie Botes

Ryan Kankowski

Ryno Barnes

Trichardt van Tonder

Facebook Comments

Facebook Comments