Home Cell C Sharks Sharks put strong team in for Super Hero Sunday clash

Sharks put strong team in for Super Hero Sunday clash


With Vodacom Super Rugby just a matter of two weeks away, the Cell C Sharks will be taking on the Emirates Lions at the Cape Town Stadium on Sunday afternoon in a big hit-out match in major preparation for the upcoming tournament.

Head coach Robert du Preez has not hesitated in throwing a handful of young guns into the deep-end, but what better platform from which to springboard the promising careers they have ahead of them.

The likes of Kerron van Vuuren as the starting hooker, with prop Khutha Mchunu, lock JJ van der Mescht and victorious Cell C Sharks Under 19 captain and eighthman Phendulani ‘Phepsi’ Buthelezi all likely to put in big performances off the bench, hoping to put up their hands for further inclusion during the course of the season.

However, by far the team consists of stalwarts and major players in the Cell C Sharks set-up, demonstrating the coaches’ desire to pick a settled team for their opening clash against the Sunwolves (away) on Saturday 16 February.

There are a number of players missing from this match, most notably those who have done duty for their clubs in Japan until recently, as well as some Springboks after a heavy workload in 2018, but they will certainly be thrown in action when the competition starts.

Louis Schreuder, the season captain, will lead the side on Sunday but he’ll have ample input and support.

This match is part of a Superhero double-header festival of rugby, with the DHL Stormers hosting the Vodacom Bulls in the other clash.  Our match against the Emirates Lions kicks off at 2pm.

The Cell C Sharks

1. Juan Schoeman
2. Kerron van Vuuren
3. Thomas du Toit
4. Gideon Koegelenberg
5. Hyron Andrews
6. Jacques Vermeulen
7. Tyler Paul
8. Daniel du Preez
9. Louis Schreuder (C)
10. Curwin Bosch
11. Makazole Mapimpi
12. Marius Louw
13. Lukhanyo Am
14. Sbu Nkosi
15. Lwazi Mvovo


16. Akker van der Merwe
17. Mzamo Majola
18. Khutha Mchunu
19. JJ van der Mescht
20. Luke Stringer
21. Wian Vosloo
22. Phepsi Buthelezi
23. Cameron Wright
24. Rhyno Smith
25. Jeremy Ward
26. Aphelele Fassi

Leave Your Comment Here