Home Referees SA Refereeing Panels for 2019

SA Refereeing Panels for 2019


Banks Yantolo, the manager of South African referees, has announced the match officials’ panels for 2019. There are few changes.

The Premier Panel is unchanged. Aimee Barrett-Theron is back on the panel after a successful 2018 in which she refereed Currie Cup Division 1 matches and in November refereed two Tests. He last match for the year was England vs Ireland at Twickenham, on a day in which Jaco Peyper refereed the match between England and Australia – two South African referees refereeing Tests at Twickenham on the same day, a unique occasion.

Stuart Berry, Quinton Immelman and Cwengile Jadezweni refereed PRO14 matches. Berry refereed the final earlier in the year when Leinster played the Scarlets in Dublin.

Egon Seconds refereed the Final of World Rugby’s Under-20 Championship.

The national Panel is now only one panel. Jaco Pretorius is the new referee on the panel. Four referees have left the panel – Rodney Boneparte, Pieter Maritz, Sindile Ngcese and Ricus van der Hoven. Ngcese and Van der Hoven are now to train and develop referees.

Lee-Ann Donson is new name on the Women’s Panel but not a new referee. She is the married version of Lee-Ann MacLune of South Western Districts. All referees will want to wish her lots of happiness.

Aimee Barrett-Theron and Ben Crouse are no longer on the Sevens Panel as they have decided to concentrate their efforts on 15-a-side rugby but Ashleigh Murray has come on to the panel. She has been on the Women’s Panel since she was 18 and this year added to her international profile after refereeing in Hong Kong and Argentina.

The TMO Panel is unchanged.

The South African Referees’ Panels for 2019

Premier Panel: Aimee Barrett-Theron, Stuart Berry, Quinton Immelman, AJ Jacobs, Cwengile Jadezweni, Jaco Peyper, Rasta Rasivhenge, Egon Seconds, Marius van der Westhuizen.

National Panel: Christopher Allison, Johre Botha, Griffin Colby, Ben Crouse, Stephan Geldenhuys, Jabian Jeftha, Jaco Kotze, Mpho Matsaung, Pumzile Mbewu, Ruhan Meiring, Paul Mente, Vusi Msibi, Bulelani Naka, Eduan Nel, Jaco Pretorius, Archie Sehlako, Divan Uys.

Women’s Panel: Lee-Ann Donson, Cameron Dyers, Siyanda Ketse, Maria Mabote, Lusanda Mtiya, Ashleigh Murray, Bulela Qwane.

Sevens Panel: Christopher Allison, Johre Botha, Griffin Colby, Morné Ferreira, Ashleigh Murray, Rasta Rasivhenge.

Television Match Officials: Christie du Preez, Johan Greeff, Marius Jonker, Joey Klaaste-Salmans, Lesego Legoete, Lourens van der Merwe, Shaun Veldsman, Willie Vos, JJ Wagner.

Leave Your Comment Here