Home Vodacom Super Rugby 2019 Preview – Crusaders v Chiefs

Preview – Crusaders v Chiefs


This must be one of the worst starts to any Super Rugby season for the Chiefs in a very long time and to make it even worst, they are traveling to face the Crusaders this weekend.

Three losses from three is not good at all but it is hard for Chiefs fans to take in the loss against the Sunwolves at home last week.

The worst part for the Chiefs is that they did not loose by a dodgy decision, nor a late try or the bounce of the ball, they were outplayed by the Sunwolves.

To come from that and play the Crusaders at home is no easy task and not many people will give them any chance of upsetting the champions at home this weekend.

The Chiefs will welcome back most properly their best player of 2017 Solomon Alaimalo.

The Chiefs also welcome back Nathan Harris, Nepo Laulala and Anton Lienert-Brown.

Tyler Ardon, Tumua Manu and Jack Debreczeni also return from from injury.

Alaimalo replace Stevenson with Moeakiola dropping to the bench.

Lienert-Brown comes back in place of Orbyn Leger, while Manu ragains his spot in the midfield.

In the front row, Harris and Laulala return to start, sending Samisoni Taukei’aho and Angus Ta’avao to the bench, with Bradley Slater and Sefo Kautai dropping out of the 23, while in the loose trio Lachlan Boshier is promoted back to start at openside, with Mitchell Karpik going to the reserves.

For the Crusaders, Sevu Reece is set to make his debut. Reece who had a great Mitre 10 Cup season and will start on the wing with Braydon Ennor.

With Sam Whitelock and Kieran Read also still resting, the Crusaders forward pack looks weaker than their usual high standards, but Codie Taylor is set to make his return off the bench.

Ryan Crotty also returns to the side, as captain, while halfback Ere Enari is set to make his first start.

Prediction: Crusaders by 14


Crusaders: 15 Will Jordan, 14 Sevu Reece, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Ryan Crotty (captain), 11 Braydon Ennor, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Ere Enari, 8 Whetukamokamo Douglas, 7 Billy Harmon, 6 Jordan Taufua, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Mitchell Dunshea, 3 Michael Alaalatoa, 2 Andrew Makalio, 1 Joe Moody

Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Harry Allan, 18 George Bower, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Ethan Blackadder, 21 Bryn Hall, 22 Brett Cameron, 23 David Havili

Chiefs: 15 Solomon Alaimalo, 14 Sean Wainui, 13 Tumua Manu, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Etene Nanai-Seturo, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Taleni Seu, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Mitchell Brown, 5 Tyler Ardron, 4 Brodie Retallick (captain), 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Aidan Ross

Replacements: 16 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17 Tevita Mafileo, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Jesse Parete, 20 Mitchell Karpik, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Jack Debreczeni, 23 Alex Nankivell

Facebook Comments

Facebook Comments