Home Discliplinary actions Reds and Sharks player cited for foul play

Reds and Sharks player cited for foul play

0
SHARE

SANZAAR have cited two players from this weekend matches who will appear before a SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee.

Sharks centre Marius Louw was cited for alleged foul play according LAW 9.11 and 9.13 – Players must not do anything that is reckless or dangerous to others and a player must not tackle an opponent early, late or dangerously. Tackling an opponent above the line of the shoulders is dangerous.

The incident happened in the 72 minute of the match. Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the Red Card threshold for foul play.

The Case is to be considered in the first instance by the SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee which will take place on Monday 25 March 2019, 8am(SAST), 5pm(AEDT), 7pm(NZDT) via video-conference.

The other players cited was Angus Scott-Young from the Reds.

He was cited for LAW 9.12 – A player must not physically abuse anyone. Physical abuse includes, but is not limited to punching or striking with the hand or arm.

This incident happened in the 28th minute of the match on Sunday between the Reds and Brumbies. Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the Red Card threshold for foul play.

The Case is to be considered in the first instance by the SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee which will take place on Monday 25 March 2019, 8am(SAST), 5pm(AEDT), 7pm(NZDT) via video-conference.

All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to the Foul Play Review Committee to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the Foul Play Review Committee.

Facebook Comments

Facebook Comments