Home Vodacom Super Rugby 2019 Match Preview – Chiefs v Cell C Sharks

Match Preview – Chiefs v Cell C Sharks


It is going to be a match the Sharks wants to win before they return to South Africa for their final games.

A win this weekend will put them in a great position to even take the lead again in the South African Conference.

Du Preez made three changes to his starting line-up which will see some players getting a rest this weekend.

Hyron Andrews comes in place of Ruben van Heerden while Phillip van der Walt goes to eight man with Jacques Vermeulen on the side of the scrum.

There is only one change in the backline with Marius Louw replacing Esterhuizen in the midfield.

Curwin Bosch seemed to have won over the coach as he gets the nod again to start at ten this week.

The Sharks defence were brilliant last week against the champions and they will need to keep it the same with the Chiefs starting to find there feet without McKenzie on attack.

They scored some brilliant tries last week against the Highlanders and they played brilliantly to come back and draw that match.

The Sharks can be under no illusion comes Saturday, this game will be hard to win against the Chiefs at home.

In summing up the previous two weeks, du Preez said: “Defence shows the character in the team and the team spirit that exists. They’ve been immense and I’ve said that from the word go. From the beginning of the year I said we have a great plan both from an attacking point of view and on defence. On Friday the boys showed how they care for each other; that’s the bottom line.

It will all start upfront again for the Sharks and dominating the set pieces is not up for debate, they simply have to dominate and make sure that they win the small battles on the ground as well.

The Chiefs have the ability to speed up the game and leave you wondering how they got in front.

The Sharks still needs to improve on attack and one feels that they need to score tries against the Chiefs to come away with a win this weekend.

The Chiefs coach Cooper has reshuffle his forward pack after injuries to Allrdice and Bsohier.

Ardon will shift to the second row to partner Brown with Parete moving to the side of the scrum and Jaconson starting at number eight.

Mitch Karpik will make a return from injury to the openside for Saturday match.

At the back Cooper kept the same players for this weekend.

The bench is largely unchanged with the exception of Pita Gus Sowakula named in jersey number 20 and utility back Alex Nankivell is named as the twenty third player.

It is a massive game for both sided and this just may be one of those classic games of rugby come Saturday.

Some Interesting Facts (OPTA)

  • The Sharks have won two of their last three Super Rugby games against the Chiefs and will now be looking to snare back-to-back wins against them for the first time since 2008-09.
  • The Chiefs have won their last four Super Rugby games against the Sharks when hosting on the day; though, just one of those four wins came by a margin of greater than eight points.
  • The Sharks are undefeated in their last four regular season Super Rugby games against New Zealand opposition (W3, D1).
  • Only the Crusaders (+71) have a better points differential in the 20 minutes after half-time than the Sharks (+27) in Super Rugby 2019.
  • Anton Lienert-Brown (Chiefs) has made 28 offloads in Super Rugby 2019, nine more than any other player.

Previous Results:

Prediction: Really believe the Sharks can take this one, Sharks by 6


Chiefs: 15 Solomon Alaimalo, 14 Sean Wainui, 13 Tumua Manu, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Etene Nanai-Seturo, 10 Marty McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber (captain), 8 Luke Jacobson, 7 Mitchell Karpik, 6 Jesse Parete, 5 Mitchell Brown, 4 Tyler Ardron, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Atu Moli

Replacements: 16 Liam Polwart, 17 Ryan Coxon, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Taleni Seu, 20 Pita Gus Sowakula, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Shaun Stevenson, 23 Alex Nankivell

Sharks: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Louis Schreuder (captain), 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Jacques Vermeulen, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Hyron Andrews, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Thomas du Toit

Replacements: 16 Fezokuhle Mbatha, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 John-Hubert Meyer, 19 Tyler Paul, 20 Luke Stringer, 21 Cameron Wright, 22 Robert du Preez, 23 Kobus van Wyk

Leave Your Comment Here