Home SA Legends SA Rugby Legends – A Legendary Clash!

SA Rugby Legends – A Legendary Clash!

Photo Credit: Howard Cleland

On Saturday, 1 June 2019, some of our KwaZulu-Natal rugby legends will be participating in an annual match with the Zimbabwe Rugby Legends (also known as the Zimbo Legends).

This clash began in 2013 and has become a regular home-and-away fixture on SARLA’s calendar, with great matches in the past played in Victoria Falls, Elephant Hills, Durban and Bulawayo.

Photo Credit: Howard Cleland

2018 saw the SARLA Team head for Bulawayo, which witnessed a great match against the Zim Legends at Falcon College.

The SARLA Team was wonderfully hosted and the match proved a great addition to those held in the past. This week we’ll see the Zim Legends arriving in Durban to play a Natal Legends Team, coached by Ian McIntosh, as the curtain raiser, before the Sharks take on the Hurricanes in the final home round robin game of Super Rugby.

Kick-off is at 12:40 pm at Durban’s Jonsson Kings Park, with 30 mins per half.

SARLA CEO, Stefan Terblanche said “This has become an exciting annual event for our KwaZulu-Natal based rugby legends, many of whom have been truly dedicated players, representing their respective clubs and province in thousands of rugby games over the years.” He added “We absolutely love hosting our ex-players and    SARLA fully believes that club rugby is the heart, soul and success of all South African Rugby Unions and we are exceptionally grateful to all who dedicate their precious time to our game.”

SARLA concluded by stating that this annual match will be a fantastic rugby event and, in addition, a wonderful opportunity to host our neighbours and for all the former players to play once again on the iconic Jonsson Kings Park turf.

Natal Legends Team


Abonga Nkwelo

Andy Tomsett

Charlton Butt

Dayle Shortt

Luke Smith

Melusi Mthetwa

Peter Nyman

Robbie Harris

Rowan Morgan

Shawn van Rensburg

Skipper Badenhorst

Skoliwe Ndlovu


Brett Hennessey

Erik Aissing                                      

Helmar Breytenbach

Lungi Kama

Mac Masina

Neil Cole

Reinhard Gerber

Richard Strydom

Roland Savage

Sacha Marot

Wesley Bodmer

Coach: Ian McIntosh

Managers:    Stefan Terblanche

Butch James

For more information on SARLA please visit: http://www.sarugbylegends.com

Facebook – @SARugbyLegendsAssociation

Twitter – @SARugbyLegends

Instagram – sarugbylegends

Photo Credit: Howard Cleland

Facebook Comments

Facebook Comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.