Home #LoveRugby BNZ Crusaders team to play Hurricanes

BNZ Crusaders team to play Hurricanes


The BNZ Crusaders have their final pre-season hit out this Friday evening before the season proper begins.  Head Coach Scott Robertson has named a strong side to take on the Hurricanes in Waverley, including 11 All Blacks.

Sam Whitelock will kick off his 2017 Captaincy, and he will be assisted by his two vice-captains for the season, Matt Todd and Ryan Crotty.

“We are thrilled to announce Matt Todd and Ryan Crotty as our 2017 vice-captains,” Robertson said.  “They are both natural leaders who make a huge contribution through their intelligent reading of the game.  They are stalwarts of the team  – Ryan has already notched up over 100 caps and Matt is on track to mark his century this year – and have the respect of their teammates.”

Friday’s clash with the Hurricanes kicks off at 5pm at the Border Rugby Club in Waverley.  The BNZ Crusaders will play their 2017 season opener against the Brumbies the following weekend, 7:35pm Saturday 25 February at AMI Stadium.  Tickets are on sale now for that game through ticketdirect.co.nz

BNZ Crusaders team to play the Hurricanes:


1.  Tim Perry RESERVES
2.  Ben Funnell Joe Moody
3.  Owen Franks Wyatt Crockett
4.  Scott Barrett Michael Alaalatoa
5.  Sam Whitelock (c) Codie Taylor
6.  Pete Samu Luke Romano
7.  Matt Todd (vc) Quinten Strange
8.  Whetu Douglas Mitchell Dunshea
9.  Ere Enari Jed Brown
10. Richie Mo’unga Jordan Taufua
11. George Bridge Bryn Hall
12. Ryan Crotty (vc) Mitchell Drummond
13. Jack Goodhue Mitch Hunt
14. Seta Tamanivalu Sione Fifita
15. Israel Dagg David Havili
  Sean Wainui
  Manasa Mataele
  Marty McKenzie

Leave a comment