Home SA Unions / Teams Bulls confirm contracted squad for 2011

Bulls confirm contracted squad for 2011


Springbok flyer Bjorn Basson tops the list of the newly contracted players for the Vodacom Bulls for their 2011 season.

Blue Bulls release

Basson, who scored a record tally of 21 tries during the 2010 Currie Cup for Griquas, started his career with the Bulls on Monday.

He is joined by a number of junior players who has earned their first senior contracts with the union.

Amongst them are Marnus Schoeman, Cornell Hess and Marnitz Boshoff, who all had stellar seasons with the Blue Bulls u.21 side.

There are 19 Springboks in the group.

The squad for 2011 is (Springboks in bold):

Props: Gurthrö Steenkamp, Dean Greyling, Corné Fourie, Morné Mellett, Werner Kruger, Frik Kirsten, Bees Roux, Rossouw de Klerk.

Hookers: Chiliboy Ralepelle, Gary Botha, Henri Bantjes, Zane Botha.

Locks: Bakkies Botha, Danie Rossouw, Flip van der Merwe, Bêrend Botha, Victor Matfield, Juandré Kruger, Fudge Mabeta, Cornell Hess.

Loose forwards:  Derick Kuün, Deon Stegmann, Okkie Kruger, Marnus Schoeman, Vincent Gwavu, Dewald Potgieter, Tendayi Chikukwa, Pierre Spies, Gerrit-Jan van Velze.

Scrumhalves: Dustin Jinka, Francois Hougaard, Fourie du Preez, Ruan Snyman.

Flyhalves: Morné Steyn, Francois Brummer, Marnitz Boshoff.

Centres: Wynand Olivier, Stefan Watermeyer, Jaco Pretorius, Stephan Dippenaar.

Wings: Bjorn Basson, John Mametsa, Akona Ndungane, Vainon Willis, Gerhard van den Heever.

Full backs:  Jaco van der Westhuyzen, Zane Kirchner.

Under 21-Squad:

Fouche en Beyers joins Blue Bulls

Point scoring machines Louis Fouche and Ulrich Beyers have joined the Vodacom Blue Bulls u.21 squad for the 2011 season.

Fouche, who scored 137 points for the Leopards in the Absa u.21-competition and Beyers, who raked up  176 points for Western Province u.19’s, will join the Blue Bulls side that will try to go one better in 2011, after being losing finalists this year.

The contracted Vodacom Blue Bulls u.21 squad for 2011 is:

Props: Juan Schoeman, Juan-Philip Pike, Vincent Koch, LJ van Heerden, Stephanus Pretorius.

Hookers:  Jacques Momberg, Bongi  Mbonambi, Eugene Cunha.

Locks: JJ Breet, Gernu Eksteen, Malungisi Bali, Andries Ferreira, José Julies.

Loose forwards: Lean Schwartz, Dalton Davis, JP le Grange, Sandile Ngwenya, CJ Stander, Jono Ross, Arno Botha.

Scrumhalves:  Lohan Jacobs, Arafat Koch.

Flyhalves: JC Roos, Louis Fouche (Leopards)

Centres: Francois Venter, Franco Maritz, Adri Jacobs, Johan de Goede, Ernst Dinkelman, Bradley Moolman, Morné Stassen.

Wings: Chesane Melane, Courtnall Skosan, Sampie Mastriet, Mauritz Lombaard, Abednego Mamushi, Pieter Oosthuizen, Craig Pheiffer.

Fullbacks: Clayton Blommetjies, Ulrich Beyers (WP), Hagen Mumba, Pieter van der Walt, Justin van Staden.

Under/19 Squad:

The Vodacom Blue Bulls have secured the services of the most sought after junior player in the country by signing William Small-Smith for the 2011 season.

The brilliant young midfielder, who was head boy of Grey College this year, captained Free State Schools, SA Schools and also led the SA Rugby u.18’s High Performance squad this year.

Small-Smith has also signed a sevens contract with SA Rugby, but will be released to play fifteens when the fifteens seasons starts next year.

Amongst the group that have professional contracts with the Blue Bulls from January 1st, are SA Schools and Boland flanker, Wiaan Liebenberg and SA Schools and Blue Bulls players Nardus van der Walt and Poerie van Rooyen.

The Vodacom Blue Bulls junior group for 2011 is (SA Schools/SA High Performance players highlighted):

Props: Hencus van Wyk (Limpopo BB), Eckert Thomas (Griquas CD), Joel Wayne Carew (WP), Du Toit Genis (WP), Christoph Gouws (Pumas), Nico van Vuuren (Pumas),  Wiehan Hey (Valke).

Hookers: Jaco Visagie (Boland), Jason Thomas (EP), Marzug Maarman (EP).

Locks: Schalk van Heerden (BB), Herman Groenewald (Griquas), Marvin Orie (WP).

Loose forwards: Katlego Maake (BB), Wiaan Liebenberg (Boland), CJ van der Schyff (Pumas), Cloete Wessels (Griffons), Nardus van der Walt (BB), Malherbe van Wyk (Boland), Shaun Adendorf (KZN), James Marx (BB), Lourens Erasmus (Lions).

Scrumhalves: Jacques Olivier (BB), Poerie van Rooyen (BB).

Flyhalves: Tony Jantjies (BB), Zandré van der Linde (KZN).

Centres: Danie Ludick (Limpopo BB), Andile Jho (Border), Christopher Bosch (WP), William Small-Smith (Free State), Damion van Wyk (Valke), Christiaan Rust (SWD).

Wing: Richard-Dean Gorrah (Griquas).

Fullbacks: Marinus van der Merwe (Pumas), Jacques Botha (WP).


  1. Ja, as die geld goed is, en as die WP sy gat aan jou afvee, kan jy seker maar in ‘n kak plek gaan bly.

    Hoeveel van die WP se o.19 en 0.21 kampioene het Kaapse kontrakte gekry?

  2. Henry Bantjes is an awesome player a real scavenger, powerful, fast was excellent in the 2007 and 2008 Junior RWC’s (when he actually got some game-time)… watch this space if Roly-Poly gets injured!

    Zane Botha fiery, but a bit light-weight… interesting to note that are packing their forwards with POCS… Gwavu is a journeyman (seems yonks ago he was in the RWC junior squad), have not seen anything of the light-weight Zimbabwean from PBHS… the two locks are light-weights too…

    Good squad backline looks great… Would have though they need another 15 though…

    What’s the latest on Bees… interesting to see him there… and hope Frik Kirsten has a blinder season… he has so much potential (when not injured)…

  3. If you take out:
    Number 9,10,12 and 13, 14 and 15 who can be in boks mix they in shit for next year. Loosies and Lock is also thin.

    Sharks bought right for next year.

Comments are closed.