Home Currie Cup 2018 CC Preview – Toyota Free State Cheetahs v Vodacom Blue Bulls

CC Preview – Toyota Free State Cheetahs v Vodacom Blue Bulls


The second game on the opening weekend of Currie Cup action sees the Free State Cheetahs hosting the Blue Bulls in Bloemfontein.

It is an important match for the Free State not just because of the new Currie Cup format but also to give some of their PRO14 players game time.

They have included three Springboks in the side to face the Blue Bulls in Oupa Mohoje, Rudy Paige, and Ox Nche.

Oupa will lead the side in their first Currie Cup match with Paige getting a start with another new signing for the Cheetahs in Tian Schoeman.

Both players previously with the Bulls in Pretoria will want to put a good performance up for their new province against their old team mates

The Cheetahs have midfield have some spark to it in Nico Lee and Benhard Janse van Rensburg.

In Nche, Dweba and de Bruin the Free State have a great front row to take on the Bulls with Conrad van Vuuren, Edgar Marutlulle and Matthys Basson on the other side.

Hanro Liebenberg will lead the Blue Bulls in their first outing as coach Human included debutant Ruan Nortje in his side.

Both teams know that you can not afford a slow start in the competition and all is on the line when they walk onto the field.

The Blue Bulls have some of the regular names among the team that was selected. Johnny Kotze will team up with JT Jackson in the midfield with Ulengo and Libbok at the wings.

This looks like a tough one for the Blue Bulls who has a very young squad going into the game.

Prediction: Free State by 9 points


Cheetahs – 15 Malcolm Jaer, 14 Rabz Maxwane, 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 Nico Lee, 11 William Small-Smith, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Oupa Mohoje (c), 6 Junior Pokomela, 5 JP du Preez, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Luan de Bruin, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Ox Nche
Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Erich de Jager, 18 Günther Janse van Vuuren, 19 Dennis Visser, 20 Gerhard Olivier, 21 Shaun Venter, 22 Louis Fouché.

Blue Bulls – 15 Divan Rossouw, 14 Jade Stighling, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 JT Jackson, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Andre Warner, 8 Hanro Liebenberg (c), 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Ruan Steenkamp, 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Conrad van Vuuren, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Matthys Basson.
Replacements: 16 Jan-Henning Campher, 17 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 18 Hendre Stassen, 19 Jano Venter, 20 Theo Maree, 21 Tony Jantjies, 22 Earll Douwrie.

[socialpoll id=”2515725″]

Leave a comment