Home Super Rugby Champions name side to play Force

Champions name side to play Force


Waratahs boss Michael Cheika has named his team for the Round 1 clash against the Western Force this Sunday at Allianz Stadium.


Taqele Naiyaravoro has been named in the starting line-up for the first time in his career with the Waratahs, and Dave Dennis and Matt Carraro will make their returns from injury in Round 1.

Israel Folau starts at full-back with Kurtley Beale at inside centre, while the title-winning combination of Nick Phipps and Bernard Foley are reunited.

Dennis starts in the number four jersey with Jacques Potgieter moved to blindside flanker.

Meanwhile, new addition to the squad Sam Lousi has been named on the bench.

Waratahs: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Jacques Potgieter, 5 Will Skelton, 4 Dave Dennis (capt), 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson
Replacements: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Sam Lousi, 20 Mitchell Chapman, 21 Stephen Hoiles, 22 Brendan McKibbin, 23 Matt Carraro

Leave a comment


  1. The Tahs just get huger and huger with the addition on the new giant 123kg winger Tagele… Ouch!

Comments are closed.