Home Club Rugby Club Rugby to get massive exposure, money

Club Rugby to get massive exposure, money


With the news that Cell C will sponsor the Community Cup, SARU have also revealed that the competition will get extensive television coverage.


THE Cell C Community Cup is SARU’s elite flagship club rugby tournament and coverage of the seven-week-long tournament is set to shine the spotlight on club rugby.

The tournament features the best non-university clubs from all the provinces plus five wild card invitees in a format identical to that of the Rugby World Cup.

SuperSport will provide live coverage of a number of matches, including the opening match on 16 February in Durban between Jonsson College Rovers and Despatch, as well as the Easter Play-offs in George, while their cameras will capture the action at pool matches across the country for weekly wraps that will run for the duration of the tournament. A schedule will be confirmed in due course.

Supporters will be able to get the latest news, fixtures, results, logs, previews and reviews by logging onto SARU’s website (www.sarugby.co.za) or a dedicated mobile web app (www.communitycup.co.za) which goes live on Monday 11 February. A team of journalists and photographers will provide coverage in the form of match reports and action photos for all matches, available within minutes of the final whistle.

“The Cell C Community Cup tournament format is an exciting blend of old and new and we would like to spread the coverage net as far and wide as possible,” said SARU CEO, Jurie Roux. “Pool matches will take place at 20 club venues across the country over a five-week period, followed by play-offs for the top eight at Outeniqua Park in George over the Easter long weekend.

“The play-offs will revive the very special atmosphere of the old Easter Club Champs in Durban, which is still fondly remembered by players and fans alike,” added Roux. “The 20 teams have been divided into four pools of five, with the draw having been done by Springbok captain Jean de Villiers, coach Heyneke Meyer and SARU president, Oregan Hoskins, in London in November.

“Each club will play two home and two away matches. The exciting thing is that, much like the Heineken Cup, the tournament will have a different flavour every year as teams, pool make-ups and fixtures change. We would also like to slowly grow the tournament over the next few years by adding platteland and junior divisions.”

Roux added that no professional players – i.e. players contracted to a provincial union – would be eligible to play in the Community Cup, thereby establishing the tournament as a “platform for more than 500 of the country’s best non-contracted players to display their undoubted talents”.


A – Jonsson College Rovers (KZN), GAP Despatch (EP), Aveng Moolmans Sishen (Griquas), Villagers Worcester (Boland), SK Walmers (wild card, WP);

B – Pretoria Police (Blue Bulls), Durbanville-Bellville (WP), Bloemfontein Police (Free State), Welkom Rovers (Griffons), African Bombers (wild card, EP);

C – Rustenburg Impala (Leopards), Roodepoort (Golden Lions), BB Truck Noordelikes (Limpopo), Bloemfontein Crusaders (wild card, Free State), Raiders (wild card, Golden Lions);

D – Broubart Old Selbornian (Border), Brakpan (Valke), Evergreens (SWD), White River (Mpumalanga), Roses United (wild card, Boland).


(All kick-off times 15h00, subject to change)

Round 1 – Sat 16 Feb:

Match 1 – Jonsson College Rovers vs GAP Despatch (Kings Park 3, Durban) – live on SuperSport

Match 2 – Villagers Worcester vs Aveng Moolmans Sishen (venue tbc, Worcester)

Match 3 – Pretoria Police vs Durbanville-Bellville (SAPS Training Academy, Pretoria)

Match 4 – African Bombers vs Welkom Rovers (Zwide Stadium, Port Elizabeth)

Match 5 – Rustenburg Impala vs Roodepoort (Rustenburg Rugby Fields, Rustenburg)

Match 6 – BB Truck Noordelikes vs Raiders (Noordelikes Rugby Club, Polokwane)

Match 7 – Broubart Old Selbornian vs Brakpan (Old Selbornian Rugby Club, East London)

Match 8 – Roses United vs White River (Pelican Park, Wellington)

Round 2 – Sat 23 Feb:

Match 9 – Aveng Moolmans Sishen vs Jonsson College Rovers (Kalahari Country Club, Kathu)

Match 10 – SK Walmers vs Villagers Worcester (Green Point Track, Cape Town)

Match 11 – Durbanville-Bellville vs African Bombers (Durbanville-Bellville Rugby Club, Cape Town)

Match 12 – Welkom Rovers vs Bloemfontein Police (Rovers Rugby Club, Welkom)

Match 13 – Roodepoort vs BB Truck Noordelikes (Rand Leases Sports Grounds, Roodepoort)

Match 14 – Raiders vs Bloemfontein Crusaders (Bill Jardine Stadium, Johannesburg)

Match 15 – Brakpan vs Roses United (Bosman Stadium, Brakpan)

Match 16 – White River vs Evergreens (White River Rugby Club, White River)

Round 3 – Sat 2 Mar:

Match 17 – GAP Despatch vs Villagers Worcester (Central Rugby Fields, Despatch)

Match 18 – Aveng Moolmans Sishen vs SK Walmers (Kalahari Country Club, Kathu)

Match 19 – Bloemfontein Police vs Durbanville-Bellville (Bobbies Park, Bloemfontein)

Match 20 – African Bombers vs Pretoria Police (Zwide Stadium, Port Elizabeth)

Match 21 – Rustenburg Impala vs Bloemfontein Crusaders (Rustenburg Rugby Fields, Rustenburg)

Match 22 – Roodepoort vs Raiders (Rand Leases Sports Grounds, Roodepoort)

Match 23 – Evergreens vs Brakpan (Pacaltsdorp Sports Grounds, Pacaltsdorp)

Match 24 – Roses United vs Broubart Old Selbornian (Pelican Park, Wellington)

Round 4 – Sat 9 Mar:

Match 25 – Jonsson College Rovers vs SK Walmers (Kings Park 3, Durban)

Match 26 – GAP Despatch vs Sishen (Central Rugby Fields, Despatch)

Match 27 – Welkom Rovers vs Pretoria Police (Rovers Rugby Club, Welkom)

Match 28 – Bloemfontein Police vs African Bombers (Bobbies Park, Bloemfontein)

Match 29 – Bloemfontein Crusaders vs Roodepoort (Clive Solomon Stadium, Heidedal)

Match 30 – BB Truck Noordelikes vs Rustenburg Impala (Noordelikes Rugby Club, Polokwane)

Match 31 – Broubart Old Selbornian vs Evergreens (Old Selbornian Rugby Club, East London)

Match 32 – Brakpan vs White River (Bosman Stadium, Brakpan)

Round 5 – Sat 16 Mar:

Match 33 – SK Walmers vs GAP Despatch (Green Point Track, Cape Town)

Match 34 – Villagers Worcester vs Jonsson College Rovers (venue tbc, Worcester)

Match 35 – Pretoria Police vs Bloemfontein Police (SAPS Training Academy, Pretoria)

Match 36 – Durbanville-Bellville vs Welkom Rovers (Durbanville-Bellville Rugby Club, Cape Town)

Match 37 – Raiders vs Rustenburg Impala (Bill Jardine Stadium, Johannesburg)

Match 38 – Bloemfontein Crusaders vs BB Truck Noordelikes (Clive Solomon Stadium, Heidedal)

Match 39 – White River vs Broubart Old Selbornian (White River Rugby Club, White River)

Match 40 – Evergreens vs Roses United (Pacaltsdorp Sports Grounds, Pacaltsdorp)

2013 Easter Play-offs, Outeniqua Park, George:

(All matches live on SuperSport. Kick-off times tbc)

Thu 28 Mar:

Match 1 – Winner Pool C vs Runner-up Pool D (Cup Quarter-final 1)

Match 2 – Winner Pool B vs Runner-up Pool A (Cup Quarter-final 2)

Match 3 – Winner Pool D vs Runner-up Pool C (Cup Quarter-final 3)

Match 4 – Winner Pool A vs Runner-up Pool B (Cup Quarter-final 4)

Sat 30 Mar:

Match 5 – Loser QF1 vs Loser QF2 (Bowl Semi-final 1)

Match 6 – Loser QF3 vs Loser QF4 (Bowl Semi-final 2)

Match 7 – Winner QF1 vs Winner QF2 (Cup Semi-final 1)

Match 8 – Winner QF3 vs Winner QF4 (Cup Semi-final 2)

Easter Monday, 1 Apr:

Match 9 – Shield Final: Loser Bowl Bowl SF1 vs Loser Bowl SF2

Match 10 – Bowl Final: Winner Bowl SF1 vs Winner Bowl SF2

Match 11 – Plate Final: Loser Cup SF1 vs Loser Cup SF2

Match 12 – Cup Final: Winner Cup SF1 vs Winner Cup SF2


Comments are closed.