Home Cell C Sharks Currie Cup 2019 – Mtembu and Ward to co-captain Sharks in Currie...

Currie Cup 2019 – Mtembu and Ward to co-captain Sharks in Currie Cup

Photo by: Steve Haag

Cell C Sharks coach has announced that Tera Mtembu and Jeremy Ward will co-captain the Cell C Sharks in this years Currie Cup tournament.

It is two players with plenty of Currie Cup experience and have a nice group of players around them when they start their defence of the Currie Cup title.

Tera is no stranger to the captaincy role having captained the Cell C Sharks in the Vodacom Super Rugby and Currie Cup previously.

He is a respected team man and will provide the necessary mentorship and support to Jeremy, who himself has always displayed strong leadership qualities having captained the SA/20 team at the World Championship in 2016.

Vodacom Super Rugby captain, Louis Schreuder has a broken toe and will miss the first few matches of the competition, therefore could not be considered.

Commenting on their appointments, Sean Everitt said: “The decision to go with co-captains will ensure leadership continuity on the field of play at all times. Both these players understand our diverse team culture and where we are heading collectively.  More importantly they have the respect of the team and are natural leaders.
“I am a firm believer in the philosophy that every player should be a leader in their respective positions, however you do need your captain to be a voice of reason and someone with a calm head that the team can look to for direction during pressure situations.  We have this in Tera and Jeremy.”

Everitt, also announced an exciting 39-man squad for the Currie Cup competition. Andrew Evans and Tyler Paul have not been included, at this stage, due to their current rehabilitation from long-term injuries.

Amongst the players named is a certain JP Pietersen, a legend of Sharks rugby who makes a welcome return to Durban, after spending some time abroad. Pietersen has been contracted until Currie Cup 2020, where after he will be developed within the age-group system for a future coaching role.
“I am excited to be back home and to be part of a familiar Sharks set-up.  The Cell C Sharks have a group of talented young players in the system and I look forward to providing a mentorship role to these young players and playing in the black and white jersey once again”, added Pietersen.

“The prospect of being upskilled within the Sharks coaching development ranks is one that excites me.  I am grateful for the opportunity and I am eager to give back to the game and more especially a team that believed in me and my poential.”

Cell C Sharks Currie Cup Squad: Bandisa Ndlovu, Aphelele Fassi, Coenie Oosthuizen, Boeta Chamberlain, Craig Burden, Cameron Wright, Cullen Collopy, Curwin Bosch, Dylan Richardson, Grant Williams, Fezo Mbatha, Ilunga Mukendi, Gideon Koegelenberg, Inny Radebe, Hyron Andrews, Jeremy Ward (c), Jacques Vermeulen, JP Pietersen, JJ van der Mescht, Kobus van Wyk, John-Hubert Meyer, Leolin Zas, Juan Schoeman, Louis Schreuder, Kerron van Vuuren, Lwazi Mvovo Khutha Mchunu, Marius Louw, Kwanda Dimaza, Muller du Plessis, Luke Stringer, Murray Koster, Michael Meyer, Rhyno Smith, Mzamo Majola, Sanele Nohamba, Phepsi Buthelezi, Ruben van Heerden, Tera Mtembu (c)

Leave a comment