It was a win for Province last week against the Blue Bulls and a lost at home for the Sharks against Griquas which setup this match to be a cracker.

The Sharks were poor last week and they will be the first to admit that and need to be better in almost all departments if they want to get another one over Western Province.

The problem for the Sharks are that Province will be coming with and even stronger tight five than what Griquas had and that is the one department which mostly cost the men in black and white last week.

They will need to step up big time in their set pieces if they want to win this game.

Wilco Louw were devastating in the scrums against the Blue Bulls and the Sharks can expect the same come Saturday.

Province side have also some great players at the back which when you let loose can cause you major problems and also something coach Dobson said they worked on this week to create more opportunities to score tries.

The only change in Province side from last week sees JD Schickerling starting on the side of the scrum and not in the second row.

This come after the injury to Juarno Augustus which sees Ernst van Rhyn shifting to openside and Jaco Coetzee taking Augustus place at the back of the scrum.

It is not if Province played great rugby against the Blue Bulls so much is expected from them in the Shark Tank.

The Sharks have a lot of potential in their team and need to show it this weekend if they do not want to let the Currie Cup slip away from them.

The only change in the Sharks starting XV sees Rhyno Smith coming in for Fassi who moves to the bench.

The coach have shown faith in the rest of the team and he will expect them to reward him with a win over Province.

One can almost say for certain the team who’s forwards take control will be in the best position to take the win.


Sharks: 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Jeremy Ward (co-captain), 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Tera Mtembu (co-captain), 7 Jacques Vermeulen, 6 Luke Stringer, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Juan Schoeman

Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 John-Hubert Meyer, 19 Gideon Koegelenberg, 20 Phendulani Buthelezi, 21 Sanele Nohamba, 22 Marius Louw, 23 Aphelele Fassi

Western Province: 15 SP Marais, 14 Edwill van der Merwe, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Justin Phillips, 8 Jaco Coetzee, 7 JD Schickerling, 6 Ernst van Rhyn, 5 Chris van Zyl (captain), 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Corne Fourie

Replacements: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Carlu Sadie, 19 David Meihuizen, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Josh Stander, 23 Craig Barry

Facebook Comments