Home Currie Cup 2019 Currie Cup Preview – Toyota Free State Cheetahs v Tafel Lager Griquas

Currie Cup Preview – Toyota Free State Cheetahs v Tafel Lager Griquas


Griquas are sitting nicely on top of the log after two bonus points wins but have a difficult one this weekend when they face the Free State Cheetahs in Bloem.

Free State started their campaign last week with a great win over the Blue Bulls at Loftus telling everyone that they are in it to win it.

Free State coach Smith made tow changes to his side with Adonis and Fouche switching places and Van der Merwe that comes in for Wiese.

Free State still have a few player on the injury list in Oupa Mohoje (knee), Aidon Davis (broken leg), Justin Basson (knee), Ali Mgijima (Achilles), Luan de Bruin (neck), Malcolm Jaer (Groin) and Daniel Maartens (ankle), Jasper Wiese.

The Tafel Lager Griquas team showed three staff changes, with the inclusion of Johan Momsen being the only change among the forwards.

Tinus de Beer and Bjorn Basson have been named in the backline, which sees captain George Whitehead switch to fullback.

It is always a huge game when Griquas and Free State meet and this one will be no different.


Cheetahs: 15 Darron Adonis, 14 William Small-Smith, 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 Dries Swanepoel, 11 Rabz Maxwane, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Tian Meyer (captain), 8 Henco Venter, 7 Abongile Nonkontwana, 6 Junior Pokomela, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Sintu Manjezi, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Ox Nche

Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Charles Marais, 18 Reinach Venter, 19 JP du Preez, 20 Marnus van der Merwe, 21 Gerhard Olivier, 22 Dian Badenhorst, 23 Louis Fouche

Griquas: 15 George Whitehead (capt), 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Eduan Keyter, 12 Andre Swarts, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Zak Burger, 8 Neill Jordaan, 7 Sias Koen, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Johan Momsen, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 AJ Le Roux, 1 Khwezi Mona

Replacements: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Mox Moxili, 18 Victor Sekekete, 19 Zandre  Jordaan, 20 Chriswill September, 21 Michal Haznar, 22 Grant Hermanus, 23 Ruan Kramer