Sharks centre Andre Esterhuizen has been suspended for six weeks for foul play during Saturday’s Super Rugby clash with the Rebels in Durban.

A SANZAAR Judicial Committee Hearing found Esterhuizen guilty of contravening Law 10.4(j) Lifting a Player from the ground and either dropping or driving that Player’s head and/or upper body into the ground whilst the Player’s feet are off the ground, after he was issued with a Red Card during a Super Rugby match at the weekend.

The incident occurred in the 17th minute of the match which ended in a 9-9 draw.

The SANZAAR Judicial Hearing held via video conference on Monday 24 April 2017, 9am(SAST),5pm(AEST), 7pm(NZST) was heard by Michael Heron (Chairman), De Wet Barry and John Langford.

In his finding, Heron ruled the following:

“Having conducted a detailed review of all the available evidence, including all camera angles and additional evidence, including from the player and submissions from his legal representative, Thembelani Mayosi, the Judicial Committee accepted a guilty plea from the Player in respect of Law 10.4(j).”

“With respect to sanction the Judicial Committee deemed the act of foul merited a mid range entry point of 10 weeks. It was deemed to be reckless in nature and placed the opposing player in an extremely dangerous position.”

“In regards to aggravating factors, it was noted that the Player was suspended for a similar offence in 2015 and subsequently one week was added to the suspension period. However, taking into account mitigating factors including the Player’s excellent conduct throughout the Judicial process, his on-field apology to the opposing player, his remorse and his early guilty plea, the Foul Play Review Committee reduced the suspension to 6 weeks.”

“The player is therefore suspended for six weeks.”


  1. I am surprised this was so light. His tackle was seriously dangerous.
    So dangerous that if a Stormers player had done it to a Lions player Peyper might have put his hand in his pocket and fingered his yellow card for a few seconds before letting it go again.

Comments are closed.