Home Emirates Lions Good news for Lions fans (Update)

Good news for Lions fans (Update)

Photo: Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix


The Lions Rugby Union has just confirm that the following players have also extended their contracts with the Lions and Golden Lions.

The players are Courtnall Skosan, Dillon Smit, Kwagga Smith, Andries Coetzee, Ruan Combrinck and Dylan Smith to add to the players that signed already earlier this week

There was some good news for the Lions fans this week with the announcement that 8 Springboks have signed extensions with the franchise.

On Monday it was announce that Elton Jantjies and Lionel Mapoe extended their contract with the Lions until the end of 2019.

On Tuesday the good news kept coming with the names of captain and No 8 Warren Whiteley, hooker Malcolm Marx, scrumhalf Ross Cronje, wing Aphiwe Dyantyi, flank Cyle Brink and lock Marvin Orie have all penned contract extensions.

For the Lions the news will be a relieve after Jaco Kriel, Franco Mostert, Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Ruan Dreyer and Jacques van Rooyen all left the franchise.

The Lions have been in the final of the Super Rugby for the past three years and has been the top SA side.

Leave a comment


  1. Malcolm Marx and Whitely only signed 1 year extentions, which probably means goodbye to both after world Cup?

  2. @Jacques: actually of those that have re signed, only Marx and Whitely has done 1 year contract, the rest all signed 2 year extentions

  3. The Lions Rugby Company would like to confirm that the following players have all re-signed with the Lions:

    – Courtnall Skosan

    – Dillon Smit

    – Kwagga Smith

    – Andries Coetzee

    – Ruan Combrinck

    – Dylan Smith

  4. You can add these too…

    Nic Groom (scrumhalf), Marnus Schoeman (flank), Lourens Erasmus (lock), Harold Vorster (centre), Sylvian Mahuza (utility back), Hacjivah Dayimani (loose forward). Madosh Tambwe (wing), Shaun Reynolds (flyhalf), Johannes Jonker (prop), Len Massyn (loose forward), Jacobie Adriaanse (prop), Sti Sithole (prop), Rhyno Herbst (lock) and Robert Kruger (flank/lock)

Comments are closed.