Home General Discussions Goosen makes PRO14 debut for Cheetahs

Goosen makes PRO14 debut for Cheetahs


Former Springbok fly-half Johan Goosen will make his PRO14 debut in this fixture after being named in the Cheetahs’ starting line-up.

Goosen takes over from Niel Marais, who will be wearing the number 12 jersey against the Irish province. Marais replaces Clinton Swart at inside centre. Swart will provide cover on the bench.

These two teams have met once before with Munster winning 51-18 in Limerick in Round 2.

“We’ve grown tremendously as a team since the last time we played against Munster and we are prepared for what lies ahead,” said Cheetahs captain Francois Venter.

Meanwhile, there are nine changes to the Munster side that defeated the Southern Kings 39-22 in George last Saturday.

Simon Zebo, Andrew Conway, Sammy Arnold, Darren Sweetnam, Brian Scott, Billy Holland, Peter O’Mahony, Jack O’Donoghue and Robin Copeland all come into the starting XV.

Zebo starts at full-back with Conway and Sweetnam on either wing as Arnold joins Dan Goggin, who scored his first Munster try last week, in the centres.

JJ Hanrahan moves from full-back to fly-half for the clash with James Hart at scrum-half.

Versatile prop Brian Scott makes his second start of the season, his first at loosehead, as Niall Scannell and John Ryan maintain their places in the front-row with Ryan set to make his 120th appearance for the province.

Holland returns to partner Gerbrandt Grobler in the engine room and it’s all change in the back-row as captain O’Mahony, O’Donoghue and Copeland are all back in the starting XV.

Rhys Marshall, Dave Kilcoyne and Stephen Archer provide the front-row cover with Dave O’Callaghan and Conor Oliver completing the forward replacements.

Conor Murray, Ian Keatley and Rory Scannell are the backline replacements.

The teams:

Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 William Small-Smith, 13 Francois Venter (c), 12 Niel Marais, 11 Sibahle Maxwane, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Uzair Cassiem, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Paul Schoeman, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Johan Coetzee, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Ox Nche
Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Charles Marais, 18 Tom Botha, 19 Rynier Bernardo, 20 Henco Venter, 21 Zee Mkhabela, 22 Clinton Swart, 23 AJ Coertzen

Munster: 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Andrew Conway, 13 Sammy Arnold, 12 Dan Goggin, 11 Darren Sweetnam, 10 JJ Hanrahan, 9 James Hart, 8 Robin Copeland, 7 Jack O’Donoghue, 6 Peter O’Mahony (c), 5 Billy Holland, 4 Gerbrandt Grobler, 3 John Ryan, 2 Niall Scannell, 1 Brian Scott
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 Stephen Archer, 19 Dave O’Callaghan, 20 Conor Oliver, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Ian Keatley, 23 Rory Scannell

Leave a comment


  1. It’s a miracle – who woulda guessed he’d come out of retirement! I’m also glad he’s not in a French tronk.

    This guy is hugely talented. I’d def have him in my Bok side. I think he was voted best player in top 14 in 2016. Still young. Between him and willlemse and jantjies and willie le roux – there is more playmaker / flyhalf talent in SA than in any other country except maybe nz (as it should be).

  2. He hasn’t played in a year and a half, plus the three years prior he played at 13, let’s give it some time before we call him the next bok flyhalf.

Comments are closed.