Home ABSA Currie Cup Kings team to Play Province

Kings team to Play Province


The Eastern Province Kings team that will take on the DHL Western Province in their first Currie Cup Premier Division match of the season at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Friday evening at 19h10.

EP Kings
EP Kings

EP Kings Head Coach, Carlos Spencer announced his team following two months of warm up games that have seen the Kings take on Wales, a Bulls XV, a Sharks XV, the SWD Eagles and the Free State Cheetahs.

The team, which will be led by Luke Watson, includes Lizo Gqoboka at loosehead prop, Edgar Marutlulle at hooker and Tom Botha at tighthead prop, while Steven Cummins and David Bullbring team up as locks to make up the tight five.

Thembelani Bholi and Stefan Willemse take up inside and outside flank respectively, while Watson comes on at the familiar eigthman.

Tobie Botes starts at the much contested spot of scrumhalf, with Gary van Aswegen opening at flyhalf.

Siviwe Shakes Soyizwapi and Ronnie Cooke take up the two wing positions, with Shane Gates and Tim Whitehead at inside and outside Centre respectively. Scott van Breda takes his spot at fullback.

Spencer said that while there had been concerns around Gqoboka’s fitness ahead of the match, following a mild concussion after the Cheetahs game in Cradock, he had been in training and that, subject to a clearance from the medical team, he should be fit to start.

“Yes, we did have a few headaches when it came to choosing the team, there were a number of players who have put their hand up in the pre season, and it wasn’t easy to finalise the team,” he said.

Spencer said while it was a definite shift in gears to Currie Cup, the focus was on the game ahead against Western Province and keeping things relaxed amongst the players ahead of the game.

“We really want to keep the players as calm and relaxed as possible and that they must enjoy the week ahead of the game,” he said.

The team:

  1. Lizo Gqoboka
  2. Edgar Marutlulle
  3. Tom Botha
  4. Steven Cummins
  5. David Bulbring
  6. Thembelani Bholi
  7. Stefan Willemse
  8. Luke Watson (Captain)
  9. Tobie Botes
  10. Gary van Aswegen
  11. Siviwe Soyizwapi
  12. Shane Gates
  13. Tim Whitehead
  14. Ronnie Cooke
  15. Scott van Breda



  1. Albé de Swardt
  2. CJ van der Linde
  3. Darron Nell
  4. Aidon Davis
  5. Kevin Luiters
  6. George Whitehead
  7. Ntabeni Dukisa (DJ)

Leave a comment