Home Awards Ludeke scoops top award

Ludeke scoops top award


South Africa’s premier Super Rugby side, The Vodacom Bulls and their coach, Frans Ludeke, scored off the field as well on Sunday after being named Team of the Year (2010) and Coach of the Year at the inaugural South African Sports Awards.

The awards, introduced by current Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula, to celebrate great achievements in South African sport, was held at Sun City on August 21st and saw the popular Bulls team rewarded for a stellar 2010 Super Rugby season, in which they won the coveted Super 14 rugby series for a second time in a row, the only South African side to ever achieve this.

In fact, the Vodacom Bulls are still the only South African side to win this world class tournament, featuring the best regional teams from South Africa, New Zealand and Australia, the three powerhouses of world rugby. The Vodacom Bulls have won in 2007, 2009 and 2010.

Ludeke coached the side to glory in 2009 and 2010 and as such is the only South African coach to achieve back to back titles.

He became Vodacom Bulls head coach in 2008 and won the premier domestic competition, the Absa Currie Cup, in 2009 along with the Super Rugby titles, the only coach ever to won both trophies in one year.

Ludeke dedicated his award to the team and management.

“This award is to all in the team, as the strongest unit is only as strong as the weakest link. Everyone contributed to our vision of hard work and commitment to excellence, so it is easy to dedicate this to them,” Ludeke said.

Chief executive of the Blue Bulls Company Pty (Ltd), Barend van Graan, was a proud man.

“Awards like this confirm and reward our drive to become a special team and the hard work that it requires. Congratulations to Frans and the team, it is fitting and deserving to an exceptional team and an exceptional group of people.”

Leave a comment