Home #LoveRugby Match Preview – Blue Bulls v Griquas

Match Preview – Blue Bulls v Griquas


With the Currie Cup getting closer to the play-offs every single point will be important for each team and even more so for the Blue Bulls and Griquas when they meet on Friday night at Loftus.


This promise to be another great match in this years Currie Cup and one of the games of the weekend.

With the Blue Bulls on 20 points and Griquas on 19 on the log the winning team will at least secure a third spot after this weekend with only two rounds left before the play-offs.

Both teams comes into the match with confidence with the Blue Bulls barging with great wins over the Golden Lions and Pumas in recent weeks and Griquas have not lost since the first weekend of the competition against the Sharks.

As the Blue Bulls will play their last match at Loftus they will want to take full points going into the business end of the competition.

Griquas made three changes to their side with Zito coming in for Putuma and Kotze and Roberts replacing Morison and Martinus at prop.

Flanker Roelof Smit will make a first start for the Vodacom Blue Bulls. Vodacom Blue Bulls coach Nollis Marais also made two rotational changes in the pack as well. Jaco Visagie will start at hooker, swopping places with Bandise Maku, who moves to the bench, while Pierre Schoeman rotates with Lizo Gqoboka at loosehead.

The return to fitness of Jannes Kirsten and Jason Jenkins will see both playing off the bench

Prediction: Another tight one but with home ground advantage I give it to the Blue Bulls with 6 points.

The teams:

Blue Bulls: 15 Ulrich Beyers, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Hanro Liebenberg (c), 7 Nic de Jager, 6 Roelof Smit, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 RG Snyman, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Pierre Schoeman
Replacements: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Martin Dreyer, 18 Jason Jenkins, 19 Jannes Kirsten, 20 Andre Warner, 21 Joshua Stander, 22 Bjorn Basson/Divan Rossouw

Griquas: Griquas: 15 AJ Coertzen (c), 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Johnathan Francke, 12 Clinton Swart, 11 Alshaun Bock, 10 Elgar Watts, 9 Rudi van Rooyen, 8 Jason Fraser, 7 Sias Koen, 6 Wendal Wehr, 5 Jonathan Janse van Rensburg, 4 Mzwanele Zito, 3 Stephan Kotze , 2 Abraham Le Roux, 1 Steph Roberts
Replacements: 16 Marius Fourie, 17 Devon Martinus, 18 Wandile Putuma, 19 Jonathan Adendorf, 20 Renier Botha, 21 Andre Swart, 22 Eric Zana