Home #LoveRugby Match Preview – Pumas v Blue Bulls

Match Preview – Pumas v Blue Bulls


This last game of this weekend Currie Cup games see the Pumas hosting the Blue Bulls in Nelspruit on Saturday night.


With the Pumas without a win yet this season and the Blue Bulls blowing hot and cold both teams will want to step up with the Blue Bulls to state a claim at one of those four semi final spots.

Coming off a great win over the defending champions, the Golden Lions last weekend at Loftus the team will want to improve this weekend and get the five points on offer. The log is starting to get congested with six teams realistically still in at a change for the play-offs.

The Blue Bulls would have also noted that Griquas have moved above them in third place with a game in hand after this weekend matches which makes this a must win for the men from Pretoria.

For the Pumas it has been a real disappointing season and even manage to loose the game last weekend against Boland leaving them at the bottom of the table with the EP Kings.

Although their chances of making the play-offs are long gone they now need to start building the team which is to much better that what the log shows at this stage.

Playing at home will give them that little bit of help and they will need to use everything the can to beat this settled Blue Bulls side. With a few injury concerns for the Blue Bulls the Pumas may cause an unlikely upset but that is not on the cards it seems.

Currently, the Bulls lie third on the log, and a bonus-point win over the Pumas on Saturday night could well see them emerge as strong contenders to finish in the top two.


One can not see the Blue Bulls losing this one so I have to give it to them with a bonus point try.


Pumas – 15 Devon Williams, 14 Bernado Botha, 13 Hennie Skorbinski, 12 Marlou van Niekerk, 11 JP Lewis, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Emile Temperman, 8 Renaldo Bothma, 7 Lambert Groenewald, 6 Brian Shabangu, 5 Jannie Stander, 4 Wiehan Hay, 3 Marné Coetzee, 2 Frankie Herne, 1 De-Jay Terblanche.
Subs: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 Louis Albertse, 18 Hugo Kloppers, 19 Carel Greeff, 20 Kevin Luiters, 21 Leighton van Wyk, 22 Ruwellyn Isbell.

Blue Bulls – 15 Ulrich Beyers, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Hanro Liebenberg (c), 7 Nic de Jager, 6 Ruan Steenkamp, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 RG Snyman, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Lizo Gqoboka.
Subs: 16 Jaco Visagie, 17 Martin Dreyer, 18 Irné Herbst, 19 Roelof Smit, 20 Andre Warner, 21 Joshua Stander, 22 Divan Rossouw.