Home Opinion New Zealand set for only two teams in playoffs

New Zealand set for only two teams in playoffs


It is something we certainly are not used to but it may be that in 2019 we will only see the Crusaders and Hurricanes taking part in the playoffs.

For years we have seen New Zealand teams dominated the playoffs with one or maybe two teams from South Africa and Australia taking part, but this year it seems that the South African conference may have the most teams in the playoffs.

It will take a massive effort for the Highlanders (10th), Chiefs (11th) and Blues (13th) to get in the playoffs and they will need some help from other to do so as well.

In the past three seasons all but the Blues were able to make the playoffs which makes this somewhat of a weird year.

The tragedy in Christchurch and resting of players did not help the franchises but then South African and Australian top players were also rested.

This makes for some interesting last three rounds of Super Rugby and it is actually what we want to see in the competition.

For a long time we have just had to except that we made up the numbers but this year beside the Crusaders most teams are not that far off.

The South African conference have four teams that qualify at the moment with the Aussies also with only two.

The South African conference which includes the Jaguares looks like the conference that are the strongest at the moment.

This can change rapidly with plenty of local derbies coming up in the next three rounds.

The Jaguares are leading the tightly contested SA conference and it looks like they will win that conference.

If the Sharks can upset the Hurricanes this weekend in Durban the Jaguares may even find themselves second overall which will mean they will have a home quarter final and semi final.

It looks like this years playoffs spot may only be decided in the final round of matches which is something we are not used to but great for the game.