Home Japan 2019 No place for Franks and Laumape in All Blacks World Cup Squad

No place for Franks and Laumape in All Blacks World Cup Squad


All Black coach Steve Hansen has left out veteran Owen Franks and Laumape when he named his 31-man World Cup Squad on Wednesday.

Another name missing from the list is Liam Squire.

He has however shown his faith in Sonny Bill Williams who will again form part of the World Champions challenge to retain the World Cup.

Focusing on the task ahead Steve Hansen said that the players picked those not selected it was more about the talent picked ahead of them, rather than a reflection on those players.

He admit it was a tough call to leave out Franks.

He is one of the great All Blacks. He certainly has shown true character. His professionalism both on and off the field has been excellent over the years.

Unfortunately as the three selectors, we believe the game requires us to have big, mobile No 1s and No 3s and in this case we feel the guys we’ve named are moreso than he, therefore we had to make a tough decision.

“Obviously he’s very disappointed, but I won’t go into details about what was said. I’m very respectful of how he coped with it, it’s a mark of the man.”

Hansen midfield will be Goodhue, Lienert-Brown, Sonny Bill Williams and Crotty which left no place for Laumape.

In the back three Hansen went with Bridge, Barrett Ioane, Reece and Smith


Forwards: Dane Coles, Codie Taylor, Liam Coltman, Atu Moli, Nepo Laulala, Joe Moody, Angus Ta’avao, Ofa Tuungafasi, Brodie Retallick, Scott Barrett, Sam Whitelock, Patrick Tuipulotu, Kieran Read (c), Sam Cane, Ardie Savea, Matt Todd, Luke Jacobson.

Backs: TJ Perenara, Aaron Smith, Brad Weber, Beauden Barrett, Richie Mo’unga, Jack Goodhue, Anton Lienert-Brown, Ryan Crotty, Sonny Bill Williams, Jordie Barrett, George Bridge, Rieko Ioane, Sevu Reece, Ben Smith.

Leave a comment