Home Castle Lager Rugby Championship 2017 Preview: Argentina v Springboks

Preview: Argentina v Springboks


Springbok coach Coetzee will be a much happier man from last year this time. This will be the first time the Springboks will be playing outside South Africa this year and a huge test of their character building up to the Aussie and New Zealand test in a few weeks from now.

It was not perfect last week and the Springboks struggled to get through the Argentina defence but won comfortably at the end of the day.

With captain Whiteley still out for a few weeks Etzebeth will again lead the Springboks in Salta with the aim to get a bonus point win. That in itself will be a huge boost for the Boks and getting in the right frame to take on the Aussies.

Building from last years disaster has been smooth this far for the Springboks and Coetzee but each week will be a step up again and progress is all we can ask at the moment.

Last year the away test was not a good one and they will be in a mindset to not just correct that but keep playing a brand of rugby that will enable them to challenge the best test nations out there.

Lats year thet Pumas forced the Boks in a kicking game which the Springboks could not handle and they need to be ready for much the same this weekend.

Defence has been one of the biggest turnarounds for the Springboks this year and an aspect they they and coach Venter want to keep building on especially away from home.

One would also like to see that our backline runs straight this week as they constantly shifted to the side last week which forced them to the side of the field most of the time.

The set pieces went well last week for the Springboks but they can expect a much bigger onslaught this week from the Pumas especially in the scrums.

For the Springboks Francois Hougaard comes in for the injured Cronje but the rest of the starting fifteen stayed the same as last week.

Previous meetings:

2017: Springboks won 37-15 in Port Elizabeth
2016: Argentina won 26-24 in Salta
2016: South Africa won 30-23 in Nelspruit
2015: South Africa won 24-13 in London
2015: South Africa won 26-12 in Buenos Aires
2015: Argentina won 37-25 in Durban
2014: South Africa won 33-31 in Salta
2014: South Africa won 13-6 in Pretoria

The teams:

Argentina: 15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Ramiro Moyano, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Juan Martin Hernandez, 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 7 Tomas Lezana, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matías Alemanno, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustin Creevy (c), 1 Lucas Noguera
Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Santiago García Botta, 18 Enrique Pieretto, 19 Marcos Kremer, 20 Javier Ortega Desio, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Nicolas Sanchez, 23 Matias Moroni

South Africa: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Raymond Rhule, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Uzair Cassiem, 7 Jaco Kriel, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth (c), 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Jean-Luc du Preez, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Curwin Bosch, 23 Damian de Allende

Leave a comment