Wales is still on the road and this week they visiting Italy in round two. They start with an incredible come back win against the French last week and will go into this test as heavy favourites.

Italy were able to hold Scotland for the better part of 10 minutes in their first outing in this years Six Nations but disappeared quickly.

They did score a few tries in the last 15 minutes but that was more a case of Scotland taking the foot of the pedal and loosing a player to the bin.

Wales are at this stage in a good position to challenge for the championship having won the away test against France and possible full house of points this weekend.

This does not mean that Wales can take Italy lightly, they will have to bring their a-game against the home side.

Wales will be led by Jonathan Davies as he wins his 70th cap and becomes Wales 137th captain.

He will partner with Owen Watkin in the midfield with Dan Bigger and Aled Davies as the halfbacks.

The back three will be made up by Liam Williams, Josh Adams and Jonah Holmes.

Up front Nicky Smith, Elliot Dee and Samson Lee form a new look front-row with Jake Ball coming into the second-row alongside Adam Beard.

Italian coach O’Shea has made a few changes to his side for this weekend.

His changes mostly come from the backline with Michele Campagnaro moves to his favoured outside centre position while Angelo Esposito will wear the number 11 jersey.

Edoardo Padovani takes over from Esposito in the number 14 jersey.

Luca Morisi moves from outside to inside centre and Guglielmo Palazzani will start at scrum-half again.

The final change is in the forwards where Nicola Quaglio replaces Andrea Lovotti at loosehead prop.

Prediction: Wales for the win by 12 points


Italy: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Edoardo Padovani, 13 Michele Campagnaro, 12 Luca Morisi, 11 Angelo Esposito, 10 Tommaso Allan, 9 Guglielmo Palazzani, 8 Sergio Parisse (c), 7 Abraham Steyn, 6 Sebastian Negri, 5 Dean Budd, 4 David Sisi, 3 Simone Ferrari, 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 1 Nicola Quaglio
Replacements: 16 Luca Bigi, 17 Cherif Traore’, 18 Tiziano Pasquali, 19 Federico Ruzza, 20 Marco Barbini, 21 Edoardo Gori, 22 Ian McKinley, 23 Tommaso Benvenuti

Wales: 15 Liam Williams, 14 Jonah Holmes, 13 Jonathan Davies (c), 12 Owen Watkin, 11 Josh Adams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Aled Davies, 8 Josh Navidi, 7 Thomas Young, 6 Aaron Wainwright, 5 Adam Beard, 4 Jake Ball, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Elliot Dee, 1 Nicky Smith
Replacements: 16 Ryan Elias, 17 Wyn Jones, 18 Dillon Lewis, 19 Alun Wyn Jones, 20 Ross Moriarty, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Gareth Anscombe, 23 Hallam Amos

Facebook Comments