Home Guinness Pro 14 News Preview – Leinster v Isuzu Southern Kings

Preview – Leinster v Isuzu Southern Kings


If you see a difference of 44 log points between Leinster and the Southern Kings then you understand how much of a mismatch this game is going to be.

Even with Leinster international players out due to Six Nations duty it is going to be very difficult for the Kings to master a win out of this one.

You never say never but one unfortunately needs to be realistic about a match like this.

Ulrich Beyers will make his first start for the Kings. He replace Masixole Banda at fullback. Banda will revert to the bench

Sarel Pretorius will also get his first start for the Kings with Ungerer shifting to the bench.

JC Astle wil also start from the bench with Stephan Greeff taking is spot with Michael Willemse taking over as captain.

Rónan Kelleher will become the 54th Leinster player to pull on a senior jersey this season when he makes his debut at hooker.

Beside Kelleher in the front row will be Ed Byrne and Andrew Porter.

Ross Molony captains the side from the second row where he will be partnered by Clontarf’s Mick Kearney.

Barry Daly moves from the left wing to full back this week with Fergus McFadden making a welcome return from a hamstring injury on the right wing. McFadden hasn’t played since the Munster match in October last year. James Lowe also comes into the side in the number 11 jersey.

In the centre Noel Reid comes in to start at inside centre with Conor O’Brien moving out one slot to number 13.

Finally in the half backs, Hugh O’Sullivan starts at scrumhalf with Ross Byrne at ten.

On the bench, Jack Dunne who made his Leinster debut last weekend is in line to play his first ever game at the RDS should he be introduced.


Leinster Rugby: 15. Barry Daly (31), 14. Fergus McFadden (173), 13. Conor O’Brien (13), 12. Noel Reid (115), 11. James Lowe (24), 10. Ross Byrne (63), 9. Hugh O’Sullivan (9),8. Caelan Doris (10), 7. Max Deegan (36), 6. Josh Murphy (16), 5. Mick Kearney (46), 4. Ross Molony (79) CAPTAIN, 3. Andrew Porter (46), 2. Rónan Kelleher (0),1. Ed Byrne (36)

Replacements: 16. James Tracy (85), 17. Peter Dooley (57), 18. Michael Bent (117), 19. Jack Dunne (1), 20. Scott Fardy (36), 21. Paddy Patterson (1), 22. Jimmy O’Brien (4), 23. Rory O’Loughlin (56)

Isuzu Southern Kings: 15 Ulrich Beyers, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Meli Rokoua, 12 Berton Klaasen, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Bader Pretorius, 9 Sarel Pretorius,8 Ruaan Lerm,7 Martinus Burger,6 Henry Brown, 5 Andries Van Schalkwyk, 4 Stephan Greeff, 3 De-Jay Terblanche, 2 Michael Willemse (C),1 Alulutho Tshakweni

Replacements: 16 Alandre Van Rooyen, 17 Schalk Ferreira, 18 Pieter Scholtz, 19 John-Charles Astle, 20 Andisa Ntsila, 21 Stefan Ungerer, 22 Tertius Kruger, 23 Masixole Banda

Leave a comment