Home Rugby World Cup 2019 Preview – Springboks v Namibia

Preview – Springboks v Namibia

South African national rugby team photograph during the South African national rugby team photograph at Hilton Hotel on September 27, 2019 in Nagoya, Japan.(Mandatory Byline Steve Haag Sports Hollywoodbets)

Second game for the Springboks in this years World Cup and one that is a must win against their neighbours Namibia.

Getting nothing out of the All Black game last week was not on the cards and Rassie Erasmus expect his team not just to get full points on Saturday but build the momentum you need in World Cups.

The team will be led by the always smiling Schalk Brits who are getting a second change to lead his country.

There are 13 changes to the side for this weekend match but the intent and strategy is to get the much needed momentum you need to win a world cup.

Brits believe in the squad and the team he needs to lead on Saturday as much as he believe in the coaches.

Although Erasmus made so many changes to the starting XV he still have some experience on the bench. All off Kitshoff, Etzebeth, Kolisi, Mostert, De Allende and Kolbe will be making an impact from the bench.

Erasmus starting back three will be Gelant, Nkosi and Mapimpi. He also have a new midfield in Am and Steyn with Jantjies at ten.

Herschel Jantjies will start at nine with Kwagga Smith and Francois Louw joining Brits in the loose trio.

De Jager and Snyman are in the second row with Koch, Mbonambi and Mtawarira forming the front row.

There are 10 changes to the Namibian side with only captain Tjiuee Uanivi, Cliven Loubser, JC Greyling, Chad Plato and Johan retaining their places.

This should be an easy win for the Springboks but we said that against Japan in 2015 as well.

Do not miss it!

Prediction: Springboks by 60 points


South Africa: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Schalk Brits (captain), 7 Kwagga Smith, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 RG Snyman, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16 Steven Kitshoff, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Eben Etzebeth, 19 Siya Kolisi, 20 Franco Mostert, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Damian de Allende, 23 Cheslin Kolbe

Namibia: 15 Johan Tromp, 14 Chad Plato, 13 JC Greyling, 12 Peter John Walters, 11 Lesley Klim, 10 Cliven Loubser, 9 Eugene Jantjies, 8 Adriaan Booysen, 7 Muharua Katjijeko, 6 Thomasau Forbes, 5 Tjiuee Uanivi (captain), 4 Johan Retief, 3 AJ de Klerk, 2 Louis van der Westhuizen, 1 Desiderius Sethie

Replacements: 16 Obert Nortje, 17 Andre Rademeyer, 18 Johannes Coetzee, 19 Prince Gaoseb, 20 Janco Venter, 21 Wian Conradie, 22 Helarius Axasman Kisting, 23 Johan Deysel

Leave a comment

%d bloggers like this: