Home Argentina Sánchez captains Pumas

Sánchez captains Pumas


Argentina Logo

Argentina have named their strongest available side for the Bronze Medal match against South Africa, with injuries having depleted their squad.

Head coach Daniel Hourcade has made nine changes to the starting line-up that lost 29-15 to Australia in the semi-finals. There are four changes in the forwards and five in the backs.

Horacio Agulla, Juan Martín Hernández and Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe started in the bronze final in 2007. Marcos Ayerza and Juan Manuel Leguizamón came on as replacements in that match.

Nicolás Sánchez is the leading points scorer at RWC 2015 with 89.

One Argentina player has finished as the tournament top scorer at a Rugby World Cup, Gonzalo Quesada (102) in 1999.

Argentina: 15 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Jeronimo De La Fuente, 11 Horacio Agulla, 10 Nicolás Sánchez (c), 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 7 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, 6 Javier Ortega Desio, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matias Alemanno, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Julian Montoya, 1 Marcos Ayerza.
Replacements: 16 Lucas Noguera, 17 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 18 Juan Figallo, 19 Guido Petti, 20 Facundo Isa, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 Juan Pablo Socino.

Date: Friday, October 30
Venue: Olympic Park, London
Kick-off: 20:00 GMT
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Glen Jackson (New Zealand), Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
Television match official: Graham Hughes