Pumas v Cheetahs

How many times have we seen a game of two halves this season and it was no different on Wednesday in Nelspruit when the Pumas hosted the log leaders, The Cheetahs.

The Free State Cheetahs were good enough at the end to take the win 45-34 but it was a massive effort from the Pumas in that second half to see them come close for that perfect comeback win.

The first half was all Cheetahs as they quickly build a commanding lead which at the end gave them the win as they led 38-10 at halftime.

It was Van Staden that opened the scoring for the Pumas with a penalty but then the Cheetahs ran away to a 21-3 lead with three tries inside twenty minutes.

It was Reniel Hugo who scored first for the visitors before William Small-Smith pounced on a loose ball to set the flying Makazole Mapimpi away.

Rayno Benjamin found space to get the Cheetahs third try with Marais kicking all the conversions.

The Pumas got a yellow card for Pretorius which cost them even more with the Cheetahs running in three more tries while he was off the field.

Flyhalf Niel Marais was successful with all three conversions, but was forced from the field moments later with injury.

A yellow card to Jerome Pretorius in the 28th minute cost the Pumas dearly as the Cheetahs ran in another three tries during his absence.

Isbell score the Pumas first try with a great solo effort which made the halftime score 38-10 for the Cheetahs.
The Pumas scored two quick tries after the break from Mona reduced the lead to 38-22 for the Cheetahs.

Jordaan scored for the Cheetahs in the 65th minute with Blommetjies adding the extra two points.

The Pumas however was not done with their fightback and score two more tries through Herne and Pretorius but the Cheetahs was able to hold the Pumas out and a thrilling match with another win for the defending champions


Pumas – Tries: Ruwellyn Isbell, Khwezi Mona (2), Frankie Herne, Jerome Pretorius; Conversions: Justin van Staden (3); Penalties: Van Staden (2).

Cheetahs – Tries: Reniel Hugo, Makazole Mapimpi, Rayno Benjamin, Jacques Du Toit, Malcolm Jaer (2), Niel Jordaan; Conversions: Niel Marais (3), Clayton Blommetjies (2).

Facebook Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment Login