Home Currie Cup 2018 Sharks 2018 Currie Cup Champions

Sharks 2018 Currie Cup Champions


The Sharks did on Saturday what Province did to them last year in winning the Currie Cup away from home 17-12.

It was a tight contest with the Sharks at the end making less mistakes and taking their opportunities when it counted.

The Sharks also outscored Province with two tries to none with all Province points coming from the boot of SP Marais and Willemse.

The Sharks should have scored more tries going over Province line three times but failed to get the ball down.

It was a slow start to the final with both teams feeling each-other out in the first 15 minutes.

The first points of the final came of the boot from SP Marais in the 20th minute.

The only other points in the first half also came of Marais boot giving Province a 6-0 lead at the break.

The Sharks made a great start to the second half when Akker van der Merwe got over the line for their first try. This gave the Sharks a 7-6 lead.

It took not long for Province to regain the lead with another penalty from Marais.

Robert Du Preez slotted a penalty which handed the lead back to the Sharks 10-9.

The Sharks by this time gained the upper hand in the match and in the 72 minute Tyler Paul got over for the Sharks second try. This gave the Sharks a 18-9 lead.

A few minutes later Willemse closed the gap with a penalty but it was too little to late as the Sharks were able to close out the game.

The Sharks were deserved winners as they lifted the Currie Cup trophy for 2018.

The scorers:

For Western Province:
Pens: Marais 3, Willemse

For Sharks:
Tries: Van der Merwe, Paul
Cons: R du Preez 2
Pen: R du Preez

Photo: Phando Jikelo/African News Agency/ANA