Home #LoveRugby Sharks squad to tour Argentina

Sharks squad to tour Argentina


Cell C Sharks Head Coach Robert du Preez has named a 25-man touring squad, who will depart for Argentina tomorrow, ahead of their return fixture against the Jaguares in Buenos Aires.

“A strong travelling squad has been announced by du Preez, despite not having the luxury of selecting centre Andre Esterhuizen, due to suspension, and an injured Kobus van Wyk, who was a very late withdrawal from this past Saturday’s match against the Rebels.

The touring squad are:

        FORWARDS                   BACKS
Chiliboy Ralepelle Benhard Janse van Rensburg
Coenie Oosthuizen Cobus Reinach
Daniel du preez Jeremy Ward
Etienne Oosthuizen Johan Deysel
Franco Marais Lukhanyo Am
Jean-Luc du Preez Lwazi Mvovo
John-Hubert Meyer Michael Claasens
Lourens Adriaanse Odwa Ndungane
Philip van der Walt Rhyno Smith
Ruan Botha Sbu Nkosi
Stephan Lewis
Tendai Mtawarira
Tera Mtembu
Thomas du Toit

For a man who has played for this province with distinction and who has such high respect for our jersey, du Preez’s unhappiness with our team performance was evident.

“Our performance was sub-standard and absolutely unacceptable.  We owe everyone associated with our team a more credible showing against the Jaguares.  We will work hard this week on the areas that let us down, with discipline and execution being key.”

Players that were not considered for selection include:
Garth April, Inny Radebe, Keegan Daniel, Kobus van Wyk, Pat Lambie

Leave a comment