Home International Rugby Test Preview – France v Scotland

Test Preview – France v Scotland


France will be hosting Scotland in their warm-up test before the World Cup which could be one hell of a test on Saturday evening.

Both sides did not had the best of Six Nations this year and will want to get right into things as time is running our for coaches and players before the show piece in Japan.

Fijian-born Alivereti Raka will make his debut for France after being named in the starting XV.

Raka is joined in the back three by Damien Penaud and Maxime Medard with Fofana and Fickou in the midfield.

Dupont will start at nine and Lopez at ten.

The French side will be led on Saturday by Jefferson Poirot takes the captaincy due to the absence of Guilhem Guirado.

There could also be first caps for Peato Mauvaka and Emerick Setiano, who take their place on the bench, while fellow replacements Dany Priso, Felix Lambey, Louis Picamoles, Baptiste Serin, Romain Ntamack and Thomas Ramos will add plenty of firepower should they get on the field.

For Scotland Duncan Taylor will play his first game for his country in over two years.

Taylor will partner former Stormers and WP player Huw Jones in the midfield.

McInally will return to the number two jumper and will lead the team

His props will be Berhan and Bhatti with Gilchrist and Toolis in the second row.

Full-back and vice-captain Stuart Hogg will be joined by Hawick man Darcy Graham and Byron McGuigan as the back three.

This will be an interesting way to end off the weekend test matches.


France: 15 Maxime Medard, 14 Damian Penaud, 13 Gael Fickou, 12 Wesley Fofana, 11 Alivereti Raka, 10 Camille Lopez, 9 Antoine Dupont, 8 Gregory Alldritt, 7 Charles Ollivon, 6 Francois Cros, 5 Sebastien Vahaamahina, 4 Paul Gabrillagues, 3 Rabah Slimani, 2 Camille Chat, 1 Jefferson Poirot (c)
Replacements: 16 Peato Mauvaka, 17 Dany Priso, 18 Emerick Setiano, 19 Felix Lambey, 20 Louis Picamoles, 21 Baptiste Serin, 22 Romain Ntamack, 23 Thomas Ramos

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Darcy Graham, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Duncan Taylor, 11 Byron McGuigan, 10 Adam Hastings, 9 Ali Price, 8 Josh Strauss, 7 Jamie Ritchie, 6 John Barclay, 5 Grant Gilchrist, 4 Ben Toolis, 3 Simon Berghan, 2 Stuart McInally (c), 1 Jamie Bhatti
Replacements: 16 George Turner, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Zander Fagerson, 19 Scott Cummings, 20 Matt Fagerson, 21 George Horne, 22 Rory Hutchinson, 23 Blair Kinghorn

Leave a comment