Home Carling Currie Cup Carling Currie Cup Final – Bulls v Sharks

Carling Currie Cup Final – Bulls v Sharks


It is the Carling Currie Cup final today when the Vodacom Bulls host the Cell C Sharks in a repeat form last season final.

The Bulls have secured their home final again after ending the regular season on top of the log and beating Western Province last week in the semi final.

The Sharks who ended second on the log had to work a little bit harder against Griquas who had a brilliant season securing a spot in the playoffs.

The Bulls will go into the final as favourites, playing at home and again the inform side during the competition.

The Sharks had a few lucky breaks with points being given to them for matches being cancelled during the Lions tour and the unrest we had a few months ago in our country, but all in all they have been the second best side again during the Currie Cup.

Both sides have been bolstering their sides this year and have some good players which they called upon to fill the spots left by their Springboks and injuries.

The Sharks have some quality players and their fans will be happy to see Springbok Thomas Du Toit at tighthead this weekend.

Du Toit is not with the Springboks in Australia due to family reasons and will be a huge player for them on Saturday.

Everitt did not change too much in the starting XV who has been on good form to get them in this final.

Mona will join Du Toit in the front row this weekend with Kerron van Vuuren at hooker to complete the front row. The two big men Gerbrandt Grobler and Le Roux Roets are in the second row with Phepsi Buthelezi leading the side again form number eight.

Henco Venter and Dylan Richardson will complete the Sharks loos trio.

Lionel Cronje and Sanele Nohamba will make up the halfback pair with Kok and Louw in the midfield.

There are plenty of speed in the back three for the Sharks with Bosch at fullback and Penxe and Abrahams on the wings.

The Bulls coach Jake White has also made a few changes form his side that beat Province last weekend.

One was forced as Bulls star during this Currie Cup campaign, Johan Goosen. Goosen tested positive for COVID-19 and was not available for selection.

His number 10 jumper will be taken by Chris Smith as the only change to the back line.

He will partner with Zak Burger who takes up the number nine jumper again.

In the midfield we see again Mapoe and Vorster with Kriel at fullback. He will be joined in the back again by the quality of Hendricks and Tambwe.

Another form player, Elrigh Louw will take his place at number eight again with Coetzee and Botha completing the loos trio.

In the second row the Bulls have Nortje and Swanepoel with Smith, Van Zyl and Steenekamp making up the front row.

This is going to be a cracker with the Sharks that will through everything at the Bulls having to do one better than last time around.

They will have to take on the Bulls pack who has been good all season and an aspect that the Sharks struggled at some times during the season.

Set pieces will be crucial and the fact that Goosen is not there for the home side will help the Sharks a bit but do not underestimate Smith at ten, he is quality.

The game will be live on SuperSport at 17:00 and the man in the middle will be Marius van der Westhuizen.


Bulls: 15 David Kriel, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Madosh Tambwe, 10 Chris Smith, 9 Zak Burger, 8 Elrigh Louw, 7 Arno Botha, 6 Marcell Coetzee (captain), 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Janko Swanepoel, 3 Mornay Smith, 2 Joe van Zyl, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp.

Replacements – from: 16 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 17 Simphiwe Matanzima, 18 Jacques van Rooyen, 19 Jacques du Plessis, 20 WJ Steenkamp, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Ruan Combrinck/David Coetzer, 23 Stravino Jacobs, 24 Reinhardt Ludwig, 25 Jaco Labuschagne, 26 Marco Jansen van Vuren, 27 David Coetzer, 28 Stedman Gans, 29 Schalk Erasmus.

Sharks: 15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Werner Kok, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Thaakir Abrahams, 10 Lionel Cronje, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Phepsi Buthelezi (captain), 7 Henco Venter, 6 Dylan Richardson, 5 Gerbrandt Grobler, 4 Le Roux Roets, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Khwezi Mona.

Replacements: 16 Dan Jooste, 17 Ntuthuko Mchunu, 18 Khutha Mchunu, 19 Thembelani Bholi, 20 Reniel Hugo, 21 Lucky Dlepu, 22 Jeremy Ward, 23 Anthony Volmink.