Home English Rugby Gallagher Premiership – Bristol Bears v Saracens

Gallagher Premiership – Bristol Bears v Saracens


The new Gallagher Premiership kicks off on Friday with tasty clash between Bristol and Saracens at Ashton gate. This also sees the return of Saracens to the Premiership.

Saracens will have to do this without their British & Irish Lions players so Alex Lozowski will start at ten for them in this one. It will also be a gig game for Ben Earl who will be playing against the side he played for last season.

Bristol will also be without Sinckler and Radradra.

Saracens will be without some of their star players after the Lions tour to South Africa. Owen Farrell, Jamie George, Maro Itoje and Mako Vunipola will not take part this weekend.

The Bears will want to start well this season after they topped the log standings last season and only loss out to Harlequins who beat them in extra time in the semi finals.

For Bristol Piutau will join Morahan and Lloyd as the back three for this first round clash. O’Conor and Leiua will take their place in the midfield with Sheedy at ten and Uren partnering with him to form the halfback combination.

Luatua will lead the side from the number six jumper and he will be joined by Thomas at seven and Hughes at eight to complete the loos trio.

In the second row we see Holmes partnering with Vui. Wollmore, Thacker and Lahiff will complete the tight five for this one.

For Saracens, Obatoyinbo, Lexwington and Segun will form the back three with Thompkins and Morris in the midfield. The halfback partner for them will be Lozowski and Davies.

In the pack Wray will lead the side from the side of the scrum with Earl and Vunipola completing the loose trio combination.

Adams-Hale, Woolstencroft and Riccioni will pack down in the front row with Isiekwe and Swinson completing the tight five for Saracens.

This will be a great test for Saracens first up and one can expect an almighty clash on Friday.


Bristol Bears: 15 Charles Piutau; 14. Luke Morahan, 13. Piers O’Conor, 12. Alapati Leiua, 11. Ioan Lloyd; 10. Callum Sheedy, 9. Andy Uren; 1. Jake Woolmore, 2. Harry Thacker, 3. Max Lahiff, 4. Ed Holmes, 5. Chris Vui, 6. Steven Luatua (c), 7. Dan Thomas, 8. Nathan Hughes.

Replacements: 16. Will Capon, 17. Yann Thomas, 18. Jake Armstrong, 19. Dave Attwood, 20. Jake Heenan, 21. Harry Randall, 22. Sam Bedlow, 23. Niyi Adeolokun.

Saracens: 15 Elliott Obatoyinbo, 14 Alex Lewington, 13 Dom Morris, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Rotimi Segun, 10 Alex Lozowski, 9 Aled Davies; 1 Ralph Adams-Hale, 2 Tom Woolstencroft, 3 Marco Riccioni, 4 Nick Isiekwe, 5 Tim Swinson, 6 Jackson Wray (c), 7 Ben Earl, 8 Billy Vunipola

Replacements: 16 Kapeli Pifeleti, 17 Richard Barrington, 18 Alec Clarey, 19 Callum Hunter-Hill, 20 Sean Reffell, 21 Joe Simpson, 22 Manu Vunipola, 23 Ben Harris