Home English Rugby Gallagher Premiership – Newcastle v Harlequins

Gallagher Premiership – Newcastle v Harlequins


On Sunday it is the turn of the defending Champions to start their defence of the title they won last season against Newcastle at Kingston Park.

The Champions having to travel in their first match of the season will come up against a team who had won their last six Premiership matches at home but the last encounter at Kingston Park saw the Falcons beat Harlequins 22-25 in February.

Mulipola will make his 50th appearance for the home side on Sunday when he packs down at loosehead. He will be joined in the front row by George McGuigan and Trevor Davison.

Iwan Stephens will make his debut for the side on the wing and will be joined in the back three by Tom Penny at fullback and Radwan on the the other wing.

In the midfield we will see Lucock and Ben Stevenson with Brett Cannon at ten and Louis Schreuder as his halfback partner at nine.

In the pack Fearns, Welch and Van der Walt will form the loose trio for the home side with Robinson and Peterson completing the tight five for this one.

For the champions, four players will make their debut for the club on Sunday with Trenier playing off the bench this weekend.

Santiago Garcia Botta, Jack Walker and Simon Kerron will pack down in the front row with Matt Symons and Dino Lamb in the second row.

Tom Lawday, Jack Kenningham and Alex Dombrandt will be the loose trio combination for the opening match in the season with Danny Care at nine.

Care will form the halfback pairing with Tommy Allan and Esterhuizen and Marchant will be next to him in the midfield.

At the back the brilliant Tyron Green will take the number fifteen jumper again with Lynagh and Murley on the wings.

This is going to be a great game to end the first round of matches so be sure not to miss it on SuperSport Sunday 15:55


Newcastle Falcons: 15. Tom Penny, 14. Adam Radwan, 13. Ben Stevenson, 12. Pete Lucock, 11. Iwan Stephens, 10. Brett Connon, 9. Louis Schreuder; 1. Logovi’i Mulipola, 2. George McGuigan, 3. Trevor Davison, 4. Greg Peterson, 5. Sean Robinson, 6. Philip van der Walt, 7. Will Welch (captain), 8. Carl Fearns.

Replacements: 16. Jamie Blamire, 17. Kyle Cooper, 18. Mark Tampin, 19. Marco Fuser, 20. Connor Collett, 21. Cameron Nordli-Kelemeti, 22. Will Haydon-Wood, 23. George Wacokecoke.

Harlequins: 15. Tyrone Green, 14. Louis Lynagh, 13. Joe Marchant, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11. Cadan Murley, 10. Tommy Allan, 9. Danny Care; 1. Santiago Garcia Botta, 2. Jack Walker, 3. Simon Kerrod, 4. Matt Symons, 5. Dino Lamb, 6. Tom Lawday, 7. Jack Kenningham, 8. Alex Dombrandt

Replacements: 16. Sam Riley, 17. Joe Marler, 18. Craig Trenier, 19. Hugh Tizard, 20. Archie White, 21. Scott Steele, 22. Huw Jones, 23. Luke Northmore