Home European rugby URC – The Officials for Round 1

URC – The Officials for Round 1


The match officials for the weekend season opening round of the United Rugby Championship has bee announced. It will be a special one for the Welsh official Ben Whitehouse and the Irish Frank Murphy who will make their 75th and 50th appearance respectively this weekend.

Murphy was also the man in the middle in the Rainbow Cup final earlier this year when Benetton beat the Bulls.

All Match Official Appointments for URC Round 1 are below:


Zebre v Emirates Lions  Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi, Parma Referee: Chris Busby (IRFU, 10th league game) AR1: Riccardo Angelucci (FIR), AR2: Federico Boraso (FIR), TMO: Brian MacNeice (IRFU) Live on: OTT, SuperSport and Premier Sport

Cardiff v Connacht Cardiff Arms Park Referee: Andrea Piardi (FIR, 15th league game) AR1: Elgan Williams (WRU), AR2: Steff Edwards (WRU), TMO: Alan Falzone (FIR) Live on: BBC Wales, TG4 and Premier Sport

Ulster v Glasgow Kingspan Stadium, Belfast Referee: Ben Whitehouse (WRU, 75th league game) AR1: Peter Martin (IRFU), AR2: Andrew Cole (IRFU), TMO: Ian Davies (WRU) Live on: Premier Sport


Benetton v DHL Stormers Stadio Comunable Di Monigo, Treviso Referee: Frank Murphy (IRFU, 50th league game) AR1: Federico Vedovelli (FIR), AR2: Alex Frasson (FIR), TMO: Brian MacNeice (IRFU) Live on: Mediaset, SuperSport and Premier Sport

Leinster v Vodacom Bulls Aviva Stadium, Dublin Referee: Mike Adamson (SRU, 55th league game) AR1: AJ Jacobs (SARU), AR2: Daniel Carson (IRFU), TMO: Neil Paterson (SRU) Live on: TG4, SuperSport and Premier Sport

Edinburgh v Scarlets Edinburgh Rugby Stadium Referee: Andrew Brace (IRFU, 67th league game) AR1: Ian Kenny (SRU), AR2: Graeme Ormiston (SRU) TMO: Olly Hodges (IRFU) Live on: Premier Sport and S4C

Munster v Cell C Sharks Thomond Park, Limerick Referee: Craig Evans (WRU, 23rd league game) AR1: Marius van der Westhuizen (SARU), AR2: Dermot Blake (IRFU), TMO: Jon Mason (WRU) Live on: RTÉ, SuperSport and Premier Sport


Dragons v OspreysRodney Parade, Newport Referee: Sam Grove-White (SRU) AR1: Gwyn Morris (WRU), AR2: Tom Spurrier (WRU), TMO: Sean Brickell (WRU) Live on: Premier Sport

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Leave a Reply

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments