Home Dubai Sevens Dubai Sevens – Blitzboks ready for Round 2

Dubai Sevens – Blitzboks ready for Round 2


It is going to be a testing second tournament in Dubai for the Blitzboks this weekend as they go into the tournamenta s the top seeded team. WIth injuries from last weeks tournament, Blitzboks coach Neil Powell could not fly in any replacemets due to the international tarvel closure that started last week.

The Blitzboks will face Japan, Ireland and Great Brittian in their pool matches this weekend. Playing the same teams twice in a row makes life a bit more difficult as they tend to learn form their mistakes the previous week so Powell is expecting a much harder pool come Friday.

With Muller du Plessis out due to injury, Ryan Oosthuizen will get plenty of game time to prove his fitness.

Rotating his players this weekend will be crucial for Powell if he wants to keep the fitness of the team up there to make the final again on Saturday.

Even though the Blitzboks was way better last week than any other team, Powell still said they made some improvements during the week specially in protecting their ball and defensive lines.

The Blitzboks start the tournament on Friday against Japan at 09:12 followed by Ireland at 13:04 and their last game on day one will be against Great Brittian at 18:33. All the matches will be live again on SuperSport so do not miss out.

The Springbok Sevens squad for the second HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series tournament in Dubai:
1 Christie Grobbelaar – 4 tournaments, 17 matches, 35 points (7 tries)
2 Ryan Oosthuizen – 24 tournaments, 121 matches, 125 points (25 tries)
3 Impi Visser – 14 tournaments, 68 matches, 70 points (14 tries)
4 Zain Davids – 25 tournaments, 126 matches, 100 points (20 tries)
5 Tiaan Pretorius – 1 tournament, 3 matches, 5 points (1 try)
6 JC Pretorius – 13 tournaments, 71 matches, 155 points (31 tries)
7 Branco du Preez – 76 tournaments, 383 matches, 1362 points (98 tries, 433 conversions, 1 penalty goal, 1 drop goal)
8 Selvyn Davids – 22 tournaments, 114 matches, 456 points (51 tries, 99 conversions, 1 penalty goal)
9 Shaun Williams – 3 tournaments, 14 matches, 31 points (5 tries, 3 conversions)
10 Ronald Brown – 3 tournaments, 18 matches, 154 points (14 tries, 42 conversions)
11 Siviwe Soyizwapi – captain, 33 tournaments, 175 matches, 555 points (111 tries)
13 Shilton van Wyk – 1 tournament, 6 matches, 5 points (1 try)

The Blitzboks’ matches on Friday (SA times):
09h12: Springboks Sevens vs Japan
13h04: Springboks Sevens vs Ireland
18h33: Springboks Sevens vs Great Britain

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Leave a Reply

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments