Home Blitzboks Dubai Sevens – Blitzboks take second title of the season

Dubai Sevens – Blitzboks take second title of the season


It may have been much harder work than ther previous week, but the Blitzboks was champions again in Dubia this weekend after they beat Australia 10-7 in teh final on Saturday.

This also means the Blitzboks have now won three tournament in a row and sitting nicely on top of the standings after two rounds of matches.

Australia came out and took it to the Boks as the led 7-5 at the break with a converted try by Toole in that first half. Soyizwapi scored for the Blitzboks for their five points at halftime.

In the second half it was always going to tbe a tense affair with Australia putting plenty of pressure on the Blitzboks which force them into making plenty of mistakes which we have not been used too. It was again the Blitzboks brilliant defence that kept them in the game.

It was a turnover by Brown that turned defence into attack for the men in green and gold as Pretorius broke the Aussies defence to power over for the winning try of the final.

The Blitzboks have now been unbeaten for 24 matches and clinch their 9th Dubai Sevense title.

Pretorius was agains the hero in teh semi-final as well against France early in the day with his late try which saw the Blitzboks take the win 19-12. The two teams was 12-all at the break. It was again Soyizwapi who scored the early two tries for the Boks in the first half.

It was another huge battle for the Blitzboks but maybe the right match to prepare for that final against Australia. The Blitzboks also put themselve under pressure with just too many mistakes which teh French was happy to use to their advantage.

The Quarter final was a bit easier against Kenya where they beat their neighbours 31-19 after leading 10-0 at the break.

(Photo by Christopher Pike/Getty Images)

QUARTER-FINAL: Springbok Sevens 31 (17) Kenya 19 (7)

Springbok Sevens – Tries: Zain Davids, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Ronald Brown, Christie Grobbelaar, Shaun Williams. Conversions: Branco du Preez, Brown (2).

Kenya – Tries: Alvin Marube, Timothy Mmasi, Jeff Oluoch. Conversions: Anthony Omondi, Johnstone Olindi.

SEMI-FINAL: Springbok Sevens 19 (12) France 12 (7)

Springbok Sevens – Tries: Siviwe Soyizwapi (2), JC Pretorius. Conversions: Selvyn Davids, Ronald Brown.

France – Tries: Stephen Parez, Jordan Sepho. Conversion: Paulin Riva.

FINAL: Springbok Sevens 10 (5) Australia 7 (7)

Springbok Sevens – Tries: Siviwe Soyizwapi, JC Pretorius.

Australia – Try: Corey Toole. Conversion: Dietrich Roache.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Leave a Reply

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments