WP had an impressive win last week against the Free State Cheetahs in Cape Town. They will be hoping that they do not see any kind of rain like they had at Newlands last week in Nelspruit.

It is an important match for both who has won 1 from 1 so far and it is going to be a difficult one for the men from the Cape. The Pumas was very impressive in their first match against Griquas.

With Stonehouse back at the helm at the Pumas we can expect some great things from this team.

De Allende started the first two Tests against England in June, but then suffered an unfortunate injury during the latter stages of Super Rugby.

The selection of the 26-year-old for WP came a day before his inclusion in the Bok squad for the Australasian leg of the Rugby Championship, and he will be determined to make the most of some much-needed game time

Wilco Louw has also returned to domestic action, and will want to make his presence felt, while Sikhumbuzo Notshe is another Bok who has an opportunity to bank some meaningful Currie Cup game time. All three players will head to Australia with the Springboks on Saturday.

Looking beyond this subplot, Province will know that the Pumas are sure to pose a serious threat on their home ground, but the fact remains that the Nelspruit-based side has only managed two Currie Cup wins over WP in 21 years.

Predictions: WP by 6


Pumas – 15 Gerrit Smith, 14 JP Lewis, 13 Ryan Nell, 12 Hennie Skorbinski (c), 11 Neil Maritz; 10 Christopher Smith, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Willie Engelbrecht, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Cameron Lindsay, 4 Le Roux Roets, 3 Marné Coetzee, 2 Simon Westraadt, 1 Khwezi Mona.
Subs: 16 Marko Jansen van Vuuren, 17 Andrew Beerwinkel, 18 Hugo Kloppers, 19 Hilton Lobberts, 20 Nardus van der Walt, 21 Reynier van Rooyen, 22 Trompie Pretorius.

Western Province – 15 Dillyn Leyds (c), 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 SP Marais, 10 Josh Stander, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Ernst van Rhyn, 3 Wilco Louw 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Ali Vermaak.
Subs: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Michael Kumbirai, 19 Chris van Zyl, 20 Herschel Jantjies, 21 Dan du Plessis, 22 Craig Barry.

Facebook Comments