Home DHL Stormers Chris van Zyl take Stormers into new era at Cape Town Stadium

Chris van Zyl take Stormers into new era at Cape Town Stadium


It is a new era for the DHL Stormers and DHL Western Province with a new stadium and new leadership in the team when they start their warmup matches this weekend.

Chris van Zyl will captain the DHL Stormers against the Toyota Cheetahs on Saturday. Van Zyl is an experience leader and will have no problem taking the leadership role on the field.

in the front row we have Ntubeni, Vermaak and Fouche with Van Zyl and Meihuizen at lock.

Augustus will take the number 8 jumper again and he will be joined by BenJason Dixon and Marchel Theunissen on the side of the scrum.

Masimla will partner with Kade Wolhuter at halfback with Cornel Smit and Nel in the midfield.

The back three also see some new face with Leyds at fullback with Van der Merwe and Zas on the wings

Stormers coach John Dobson is happy with the excitement in the squad to start this pre-season matches.

“This is a team brimming with talent, with experienced heads in key positions and we are all looking forward to seeing what they can produce.

“It will be our first game with Cape Town Stadium as our home and everyone is looking forward to making a big impression, although our faithful fans will be missed,” he said.

DHL Stormers: 15 Tristan Leyds, 14 Edwill van der Merwe, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Cornel Smit, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Kade Wolhuter, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Ben-Jason Dixon, 6 Marcel Theunissen, 5 Chris van Zyl (captain), 4 David Meihuizen, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Ali Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Johan du Toit, 20 Ernst van Rhyn, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Abner van Reenen, 23 Mnombo Zwelendaba.

4 1 vote
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments